Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Shadowrift» Forums » Rules

Subject: Individual Card Rulings: Actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
This refers to non-Attack Actions, of course. Attacks are also Actions, but we've already covered those.

Again, a reminder of the change to the rules: You can't do the first part of a card and then use cards you got from the first part to pay for the boost.

Heal: Return an Affliction card from any discard pile (the discard pile of any hero or, once the expansion comes out, the Town discard) to its stack. If you pay a magic, you choose a hero (you may choose yourself) and that hero draws 2 cards. Additionally, if you paid the boost then Heal counts as a Quick Action. Thus, a boosted Heal may be played even after you've played an Action for the round.
This card is an important reason for players not to discard their hands until everyone's done with their turns! Heal can't get rid of cards in hand, and you aren't allowed to discard cards from in hand at will, so if there aren't any Afflictions in any discard piles you may have to get into melee combat to make Heal useful.
Players are allowed to look through their discard piles if they aren't sure whether or not they have Afflictions for you to remove.

Prophecy: Draw a card. Then all heroes, including you, look at the top two cards of your decks. You don't draw these cards (draw effects like Burn and Heroism do not take effect) and may not reorder them. If you wish, you may move one of them to your discard pile.
If you paid the 1 magic to boost Prophecy, the next monster you defeat this round will be worth 1 extra Heroism. This is true even if the monster is normally worth no Heroism, but does not apply to other things that can be destroyed with damage (Freezes) or other ways to earn Heroism (sealing Shadowrifts).
Multiple boosted castings of Prophecy do stack, meaning that a 3-Heroism monster with 6 boosted Prophecies and a Bard could be worth a whopping 10 Heroism for the party!

Resurrect: If one or more of the cards revealed in Town this turn is a Corpse, put one back on the Corpse stack. If you pay 2 magic you may look at the top card of the Traveler deck. If it is a Villager, you are allowed to put it directly into play.
You are allowed to perform the boost effect of this card independently of the Corpse removal. This may mean that the number of cards in town exceeds five; This is allowed.
You are not required to put the Villager your Resurrect finds into play (for instance, if it is an Infiltrator). However, you do not get a refund of your magic points if you do not use the effect.

Revitalize: You choose a hero (you may choose yourself) and that hero puts a Wound from in hand back on the Wound stack. If you pay a magic to boost Revitalize, each hero (including you) chooses either to put a Wound from in hand back on the Wound stack or to draw a card.
If the hero you choose has no Wound in hand, the basic effect of this card has no effect. You are allowed to ask who has Wounds, however.
You are allowed to play the basic part of the card without removing a Wound to get the boost effect. That is, if nobody has a Wound in hand you may still play Revitalize and a magic to make everybody draw a card.

Rousing Speech: Each hero besides you draws a card. If a monster has been defeated earlier this round, Rousing Speech is a Quick Action. If you pay 1 Coin resource to boost Rousing Speech, you also put a Might from the Might stack on top of another hero's deck (not your own).
If the Might stack is depleted you are allowed to spend the Coin but there is no effect.
As with any Coin cost, you may either return a Coin to the Coin stack or discard a Heroism to pay this boost.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ZW Garth
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Played this game twice tonight for the first time with my SO--and I think midway through the second game we finally figured out how to play haha. We did have a question about Resurrection--when it allows you to take a Villager from the Traveller deck, we took that to mean only one of the ten basic Villagers and not Traveller Villagers. But you mention Infiltrators, so I wanted to double check--for the Ressurrection card's boost, can it bring a Traveller Villager into Town?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan B
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mb
So I've played against each of the factions, and I love this game. My only question is with a card like Heal, if I fail to find a Affliction, can I still boost to draw 2 cards?
Deck list follows:
I played a game just now and with 3 Heal cards,2 Blessed Smite cards, 1 Seal, and 1 Holy Aura I was able to draw through my deck every other turn. This judt seemed a little silly. Still, I love this game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Orion Anderson
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
Resurrect allows you to put the top card of the traveler deck into play if it is a villager. That restrictive clause confuses me. The top card of the traveler deck will ALWAYS be a villager, right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Jackson
Germany
flag msg tools
Thanks for that awesome Individual Card Rulings
But I miss the Rules for the Drow. cry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.