Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Caylus» Forums » Rules

Subject: 'Fixed' Buildings? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I have found a typo in the rules which threw a swerve ball at me for a while;

Under progress of the game, Phase 2 - Placing the Workers, the bold heading after b) states;

b) placing of a worker on a special, neutral or fixed building

After checking the set up graphic, reading this section three times and then re-reading the rules I can find no other reference to a 'fixed' building. However the text after frequently mentions 'basic' buildings.

My guess is that fixed means basic. What does everyone else think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Mucchiello
United States
Edison
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
Fixed refers to the (marketplace) 7th, (carpenter) 8th and (goldmine) 14th(?) buildings which are printed on the game board and thus fixed. Neutral buildings are the 6 pink buildings. Special buildings are the 6 buildings before the bridge. IIRC.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules set I have on page 1 there is a colour plan of the board. This lists 14 highlighted board features in a key section of which number '12' covers 3 areas including peddler (not marketplace), carpenter, and goldmine. These areas are referred to in the key as 'Basic Buildings'. The definition 'fixed building' does not appear in the key at all. Neutral & special buildings are clearly defined in the key.

I'm not sure what your reference to '14th' is. My goldmine is 16 squares from the bridge.

If the key on the front page of the rules calls these three buildings 'Basic' then its un-necessarily confusing to introduce a second term for the same thing half way through the rules and then use 'basic' again in the adjacent example. Is this a translation glitch?

If Caylus is to be as popular as early indications suggest we really do need a common set of terms of reference so we don't confuse what is being discussed.

A table scheduling pictures of the buildings their name, class and function would be useful too.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Big Bad Lex wrote:


A table scheduling pictures of the buildings their name, class and function would be useful too.



And as if by magic;

http://www.bggfiles.com/viewfile.php3?fileid=13630
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Big Bad Lex wrote:
If Caylus is to be as popular as early indications suggest we really do need a common set of terms of reference so we don't confuse what is being discussed.


Yes, definitely. The prospect of running gun battles between the Fixed Buildings Gang and the Basic Buildings Organization seems almost inevitable. And one can't help but be concerned that the factions might resort to nuclear or biological weapons.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or the car park.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Mucchiello
United States
Edison
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
Big Bad Lex wrote:
I'm not sure what your reference to '14th' is. My goldmine is 16 squares from the bridge.

Did you see the question mark after 14th? It meant I wasn't sure as I wasn't looking at the board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
arz man
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the fixed buildings are referred to as both "fixed" and "basic".

It is a problem of inconsistency in the translation: the French version refers to "fixed buildings" in the colour board plan and in the text.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.