Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Shadowrift» Forums » Rules

Subject: Individual Card Rulings: Starters and Basics rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Prowess: The basic resource used to buy new Skills, Actions, and Resources, Prowess represents basic effort spent on tasks like training, building, or holding a job, or extra care spent on attacking.

Strike: A naturally Quick Attack that deals 1 melee hit to your target. If you pay 2 prowess to boost it, Strike is a ranged hit, which means you probably won't take a Wound for attacking.
As they are Quick, you may play any number of Strikes in a round along with other attacks. If some but not all of the Attacks you play against a single monster are ranged, you will take a Wound from that battle, so it is rarely worth making just one Strike ranged if you will play more than one Strike against a single monster.

Explore: You look at the top card of the Traveler deck and may put that card on the bottom of the Traveler deck.
If you pay Coin to boost Explore, you may also put the visible top card of the Monster deck on the bottom of the Monster deck.
As with all boosts, you may perform both actions, not only one or the other. You are not required to move the top card of the Traveler deck to be allowed to get the boost effect.

Coin: A basic resource for buying Loot, hiring Villagers, and building Walls. It's also usable to boost certain Action cards.
Unlike most cards in Shadowrift, when Coin is purchased it moves directly to your play area, with any Loot or Skills you have in play. You are allowed at any time - even when it is not the Heroes Act step - to give any amount of your Coin cards to another hero. Also unlike other cards in Shadowrift, Coin returns to the Coin stack when spent.
A Coin never goes into a hero's discard pile, hand, or deck for any reason.

Might: Completely identical to Prowess except for its special ability: When you draw it, you draw another card.
This effect applies immediately regardless of when you draw it, including if you draw it because of another Might.
This effect does not apply when you merely look at it while it is on top of your deck, due to cards like Prophecy or Brawler.

Seal: You may put a card from the monster power area (whether a monster, Shadowrift, power card, or Totem) on the bottom of the Monster deck. This is the primary way to remove cards from the power area so they do not continue to provide bonuses to the monsters.
If you spend magic to boost Seal, you may seal a Shadowrift, removing it from the game entirely and earning one heroism for the hero with the Next Heroism Token (or yourself, if nobody has earned any Heroism yet). The Next Heroism Token then passes to the next player.
You do not earn this Heroism if there is not a Shadowrift to seal, nor if you use the non-boosted version of Seal to move a Shadowrift to the bottom of the monster deck.
As with other boost effects, the boosted Seal allows you to BOTH move a card from the monster power area to the bottom of the Monster deck AND seal a Shadowrift. You are not required to perform the non-boosted Seal effect when you play Seal; It is optional.

*Print Correction: Shadowrift should be one of the cards listed on the Basic Cards divider*
Shadowrift: A Shadowrift moves directly into the monster power area when revealed during the Add New Monsters step. Each round it remains in the monster power area, the monsters get 1 extra power point to help them come into play.
If all of the Shadowrifts that were put into the Monster deck are sealed, the heroes win the game.
However, effects that put Shadowrifts on the bottom of the Monster deck - such as Shrine, Priest, or the unboosted Seal - do not count as sealing the Shadowrift for this purpose.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Thoukydidis
Luxembourg
Esch-sur-Alzette
Luxembourg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot for these. Is there a possibility that you provide a printable version of all these rulings together?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garth Boucher
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Very basic questions that I have not seen asked yet - makes me think I'm missing something obvious.

1) Starter card "strike" is listed as a card that is added to the initial layout, with coin, might and seal. How much does it cost to aquire (given it has a "starter card sword" and not a cost)?

2) Starter card explore is no listed in as one of the cards setup in the initial layout. Are you not able to aquire it during play (beyond the one you start with)?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Hickey
msg tools
mbmbmb
Garthasl- There are strikes which are starter cards, and strikes which are not. The ones which are not have a price on them. You cannot acquire more explore cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garth Boucher
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks cad fan.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shaun
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do coins stay in play from turn to turn until they are used? Can I buy coin this turn, but then save it to use next turn? I assume so, since you only discard unmaintained skills and your hand. I just want to clarify
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Reece
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Coins stay in play from turn to turn if not spent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shaun
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fu_Koios wrote:
Coins stay in play from turn to turn if not spent.


Sweet! Thanks for the reply
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
badge
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DbZer0 wrote:
Thanks a lot for these. Is there a possibility that you provide a printable version of all these rulings together?


I can only second this - could you make up a PDF with all the "individual card description" forum posts? That would be awsome and greatly reduced the forum rules questions, I guess.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.