Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Age of Napoleon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Canceling a diplomatic event rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
suPUR DUEper
United States
Villa Hills
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey All,

7.2.4.2 Says "The other player may immediately play a diplomacy card of his own to counter the first player and prevent the change in diplomatic status".

Can the other player:
A) play any diplomatic card to cancel the event?
B) play any diplomatic card that could be playable without regard to the game state (i.e. could the French counter with Metternich if Austria was not a French ally or dominion?)
c) play any diplomatic card that is playable given the current state of the board (i.e. France can only play Metternich if Austria is an French ally/dominion)
d) play any diplomatic card that is a) currently playable by his side and b) could affect the target country in some way? (e.g. Austria is neutral. France plays Napoleon I to convert Russia from CM to neutral. Can the Coalition player use Metternich to stop it?)

Thanks,

Ted



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jean Lannes
Germany
Zirndorf
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TedW wrote:
Hey All,

7.2.4.2 Says "The other player may immediately play a diplomacy card of his own to counter the first player and prevent the change in diplomatic status".

Can the other player:
A) play any diplomatic card to cancel the event?


For a) it's possible.

For example the French makes Austria pro-French or neutral, the Koalition player can play a card to make Austra neutral or pro-England again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card played to cancel must be one that would effect the country in question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
suPUR DUEper
United States
Villa Hills
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Windopaene wrote:
The card played to cancel must be one that would effect the country in question.


So, say the Coalition Player tries target Prussia. The French can't play Metternich unless they control Austria?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabian Mainzer
Germany
Freiburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
TedW wrote:
Windopaene wrote:
The card played to cancel must be one that would effect the country in question.


So, say the Coalition Player tries target Prussia. The French can't play Metternich unless they control Austria?


Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiberius Vulpius
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Who is allowed to play the next diplomatic card after a card was canceled.

Lets say Player A targets a country with a diplomatic card, Player B cancels that card with an own diplomatic card - who is allowed to play the next card? Player A or B?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.