Josh Reed
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Hey everyone - first time forum member here, long-time fan of map/board/strategy games although admittedly not too in depth - mostly Civ through 2/3/CTP/4, Catan, various RTS game, now mostly playing a lot of chess.. I also work as a part-time web designer and programmer and have been working on a meta-board game I've had an idea for evolving concepts from checkers/chess through go/stratego/risk up to catan/civ and beyond, with economics built on Civ and combat modelled more RPG-style - part for fun, part to bring myself up to web standards.

Anyhow, I'm working first on a map generator, and really I'm just looking for people that have insight on algorithms, needs, or just general ideas. I'm hoping to pull together a front-end interface for people to mess around with once I can stabilize the algorithms a little bit more to allow for options, especially terrain options... hopefully in the next week or two.

Mostly I'm just trying to get into the community a bit as I develop this game - I've already built some spreadsheets for unit/settlement/terrain interaction and event sequences, so hopefully I'll be around?

The map generator, which I sketched and coded in about 10 hours from scratch this weekend:

www.flourcityshows.com/game/mapgenstable.php (Most recent, more stable, low-res version)
www.flourcityshows.com/game/mapgen.php (whatever version I last updated to the server, generally more high res.)

I've thought through basically three processes for generation, each of which I can see having different appeals - my model for influence is I guess the Civ 4 / Warlords map generator.

Additive/Organic: Start with water, create anchor points for continents, gradually raise islands (imagining volcanoes and fault lines). This seems better for building continents.