Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Altem Mages rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luis Canela
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
Hi all, sorry if it was already asked, I haven't been able to find it.

Altem Mages states:

"All your attacks become siege attacks ..."

Does it include attacks from units as well?

thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Berry
United States
Denver
CO - Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
if it says attack on the card add the word siege (overwriting any ranged entries). Yes, an attack from a unit would be altered by this unit's ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis Canela
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
Thanks!!!! :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Wei
China
flag msg tools
Hi Chris,

Are you sure about this ? It says "your attacks", even attack from your Unit can gain benefit from Altem Mages' ability?

How about the strong effect of "sword of justice" ? Does your Unit's physics attack also become doubled?

Is this a official answer ? I think both above two effects should only affect the skills & cards from player-self, not the Unit, otherwise it should said "All your and Your Units' ...."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Plei Forejoy
Singapore
flag msg tools
This space for rent!
badge
Painting all these miniatures is starting to crimp my time...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PaulGrogan wrote:
CMoor213 wrote:
Q2: Does the "make everything a siege attack" ability of Altem Mages apply to attacks made by units as well?
Yes, it applies to Units. It makes all Attacks conducted by the player better.

Source: Official Rules FAQ Thread

Altem Mages third effect wrote:
All attacks you play this turn ..., or all your attacks become ...
Sword of Justice strong effect wrote:
Double the ... of all physical attacks you play ...
"attacks you play"/"all your attacks" = all Attack effects (of the required type) played.

NB: "attacks you play" is different from "Attack cards played" (for Ambush).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Wei
China
flag msg tools
Thanks, Got it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oscar
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One more question about Alten Mages, So every attack it's a siege attack in addition to any elements they have, so If I use another unit with fire attack 3(now siege fire attack +3) and add 1 attack card of +2(no fire element on this one).
It will be +5 fire siege attack?

Also the Alten Mages says that All attacks you play this combat, what if I attack a city and split the 4 tokens I'm facing in 2 groups, will I have the Alten Mages effect for both or just 1 of those stacks.

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Bulacz
Poland
Kraków
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it will be 3 Siege Fire Attack and 2 Siege Attack.
Which can be effective 5 Siege Attack against enemies with no resistances.
But if some enemies do have resistances, then Fire or Physical attack may be halved...
Read rules again if you don't understand it.
edit: or read some PBF to see this in action

In 1 combat where you have multiple enemies you have multiple fights.
Combat is not fighting against single enemy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oscar
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cheers=)

So I 'll get siege no matter how I split the battles! Awesome card
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie
United States
Belmont
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wanted to say - yay Altem Mages! Crushed Volkare in the Return scenario without him even having had a chance! 31 Siege generated! (see my game list for details)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Zuniga
Spain
Sevilla
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding to Altem Mages, probably I did it wrong, but it's possible activate mages to gain two black mana tokens and in the same game ready the unit with AA or Skill to use the Altem Mages in combat?

I have just won my first solo conquest. With altem mages, magic talent and tremor-earthquake, the second city didn't have any chance against me. Although I was very very lucky.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
José S
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe it's a silly question but the third skill must be played by paying a black mana, so that I suppose that it only works at night, am I right?.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paranoid Seer
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cancuino wrote:
Maybe it's a silly question but the third skill must be played by paying a black mana, so that I suppose that it only works at night, am I right?.

Yes. Or in a dungeon, if you can get them in there using bonds of loyalty.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or if you have the Amulet of Darkness.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elric de Melniboné
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or if You use the Blood Ritual card, in order to gain a black mana.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George I.
Switzerland
Lausanne
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dragosani wrote:
Or if You use the Blood Ritual card, in order to gain a black mana.
Yes, but it has to be night. Black mana is totally unusable during daytime (barring locations using night rules and Amulet of Darkness). You can technically get a black mana token using Blood Ritual during daytime, but you cannot use it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elric de Melniboné
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
good point
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.