Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Army of Death question -- rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher KillinIt
msg tools
The card reads that the reanimate doesn't have to have LoS on the affected monsters. But the card doesn't specifically say that it doesn't have to be in range of the monsters. If the reanimate isn't in range of a monster that the necromancer has LoS on, is it still "attacked?"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Knobbly Savage
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only condition is that the reanimate must be on the map, it can hide in the furthest edge and Army of Death will still hurt all the monsters the necromancer can see.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Army of Death wrote:
[Action]: Perform an attack with your Reanimate. This attack affects each monster in your line of sight, ignoring range; your Reanimate does not need line of sight to the affected monsters but does need to be on the map.


Emphasis mine. It does specifically say that you ignore range for the attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Reeve
Switzerland
St-L├ęgier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that the idea behind the rule is that the Necro unleashes a horde of (quite volatile) skeletons/undead against all the enemies in sight.
They vanish once they did their attack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Reeves
Canada
York
Ontario
flag msg tools
if the Reanimate is adjacent to a Shadow Dragon when Army of Death is played, there must be a surge rolled to hit correct? Regardless of where the targets are
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Knobbly Savage
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iamcrazyjoe wrote:
if the Reanimate is adjacent to a Shadow Dragon when Army of Death is played, there must be a surge rolled to hit correct? Regardless of where the targets are


Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Triu Greykith
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
iamcrazyjoe wrote:
if the Reanimate is adjacent to a Shadow Dragon when Army of Death is played, there must be a surge rolled to hit correct? Regardless of where the targets are

Since the attack is based on the Necro's LOS, shouldn't it depend on his position, not Little Orphan Reani's?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Knobbly Savage
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, because Army of Death clearly states that the attack is performed by the Reanimate. It would have had to be along the lines of "perform an attack using the Reanimate's attack dice".

From a thematic point of view, I agree, it is the Necro who actually summons the dead; however, that's not what the mechanics say.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Sciola
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
Does that mean if the reanimate isn't next to a shadow dragon but Army is played and the shadow dragon is a valid target that a surge isn't required?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Knobbly Savage
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.