Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Wiz-War (eighth edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: 1 energy spell to boost movement? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
William Hornblende
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I've played with the new version of Wiz-War.
It is written that the standard energy of a spell is 1(page 11 of the rules). And it is possible to boost movement with energy, once per turn.

I was wondering if such energy spells without explicit mention of "energy source" in blue at the bottom of the card can be used to boost movement with a +1.

If it's possible, it makes the game faster.
Indeed, you do not need to discard two spell cards. Use one to boost your movement!
So the standard movement is 3, + the 1 energy from a card cycling = 4 possible movement points each turn!

So, is it possible or forbidden by the rules?




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cory swafford
United States
Waterbury
Vermont
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A spell cannot be used to boost movement by 1 in the manner you propose. The 1 value attached to a spell can only be used for duration or power of that very spell.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hornblende
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, but when it is explicitely mentioned with a "3" blue energy at the bottom, we can use it to boost speed, don't we?

So if I understand it, one can only boost spells/movement with spells that have the "energy recycling" symbol at the bottom.


It is the same with the "Add" card: spells with "energy cycling" can be used, but one can not use spells with only their intrinsic 1 energy.


So to sum up:
An "energy value symbol" written on a spell card works in two ways:
- it boosts the power/duration of this spell (3 energy = 3 markers = 3 turns)
OR
- it allows to recycle the card, and instead of using the power of the spell, one can act as if it was a pure "Energy card". And the user can boost movement/power/duration of other spells.


If there is nothing written, the 1 energy is only for the intrinsic power/duration of the spell and not to use on another spell or action.


I need a confirmation to be sure...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zomber
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hornblende wrote:
Ok, but when it is explicitely mentioned with a "3" blue energy at the bottom, we can use it to boost speed, don't we?

The card with an blue energy at the bottom can be used to boost movement, boost another spell, OR use as it's normal card effect (without using the energy).

Hornblende wrote:
So if I understand it, one can only boost spells/movement with spells that have the "energy recycling" symbol at the bottom.

Or one can boost spells/movement with pure energy cards...not just the ones with energy symbols at the bottom.

Hornblende wrote:
It is the same with the "Add" card: spells with "energy cycling" can be used, but one can not use spells with only their intrinsic 1 energy.

That's correct. Cards without the energy symbol cannot be used as a 'boost 1' energy to other spells/movement

Hornblende wrote:
So to sum up:
An "energy value symbol" written on a spell card works in two ways:
- it boosts the power/duration of this spell (3 energy = 3 markers = 3 turns)


No! A card containing an energy value symbol does NOT boost that particular spell. You would need another card with energy to boost the spell. This is an important point. Cards with the blue energy option at the bottom can be played for their card effect (with power/duration default of 1), OR it can be used for its energy boost to movement/another spell. You can't play a card's effect AND use it's energy to boost itself.

Hornblende wrote:
If there is nothing written, the 1 energy is only for the intrinsic power/duration of the spell and not to use on another spell or action.

Thats correct
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hornblende
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Quote:
No! A card containing an energy value symbol does NOT boost that particular spell. You would need another card with energy to boost the spell. This is an important point. Cards with the blue energy option at the bottom can be played for their card effect (with power/duration default of 1), OR it can be used for its energy boost to movement/another spell. You can't play a card's effect AND use it's energy to boost itself.


you are right, it is written page 12 of the rules!!!
I missed it!

Thank you for your precisions!
Let's practice now! meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leone Fenzi
Italy
Genova
flag msg tools
badge
Winter is Coming
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
btblack wrote:
Or one can boost spells/movement with pure energy cards...not just the ones with energy symbols at the bottom.


BTW, in FAQ 1.1 I read:

Q. Can you use more than one energy card or Magic card
that has an energy value per action (to boost movement or
to boost a spell)?
A. No. You cannot use more than one card with an energy
value to boost a single action or spell. Certain cards, such
as the“Add” spell card, allow a player to break this rule.

Therefore I understand that movement can be boosted with just a single card (either a "pure" energy card ("Big Number") or a spell reporting a "Small Number" at the bottom-center) not a "sum" of more cards (e.g. a "5" Energy + a Spell reporting a "2" for a total of "7" boosts in addtion to the standard 3 movement points => wrong!).

Right??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hornblende
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, only 1 boost.
Only exception: "Add"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zomber
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hornblende wrote:
Right, only 1 boost.
Only exception: "Add"

Yep, a single energy source/card boost per movement, or per boostable spell. The ADD spell breaks that rule of course, allowing you to add 2 energy sources for your movement or spell.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cobbs c
msg tools
mb
If it doesnt have a blue energy circle at the bottom, it can't be used as a booster. Even though the base energy level of cards is "1", that's only so they can actually be used on their own. That doesn't mean the card has the 'hybrid' mechanic, of being able to boost other spells or movement.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.