Subject: THiS NEW PERSON needS your help! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
carrie b
United States
w dundee
Illinois
flag msg tools
zombieHi everyone. i'm very new to this group, and i have a couple of questions. but first a little background!

my knowlege of games is limited to the standard american stuff. i started playing board games early on, with Candyland and Shoots and Ladders in the 60's (to name a couple) and haven't stopped playing since. but very common games (at least here in the US) the ones I play now with my kids (ages 9 and 11) are boggle, life, monopoly, yahtzee, etc..... which only reminds me of how out of the loop i am!

there's a couple of games that i want to learn i think the one is Dork Tower and the other one is about an Office or something like that. i'm not really good at strategy games, i was TERRIBLE at Risk gulp, but good at Stratego arrrh. I've never won Monopoly (EVER)yuk but I've done so in Yahtzee, Life, Careers, Cadoo, Sorry, Pop O Matic Trouble, Mystery Date (1966 or so) and the Power Rangers game . Just to name a few. Excelled at Password and Boggle, UNO, and Mousetrap and Clue...

One game I remember playing that I didn't find on the list (i don't wonder why heh heh) is Bop the Beetle. I got it for Christmas back in the sixties and it was all about hitting these balls or disks into a green thing's (frog?) mouth.

Anyway, it's clear that i'm no gamer but i think i'd like to broaden my very narrow horizons and check a few out. what would you suggest for a beginner who is no good at strategy? Go Fish? laugh okay, but besides that?