Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Schneider
Germany
Kronshagen
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yesterday I bought a commercial PC-game version of Puerto Rico. AFAIK, the game was released this month and is only available on the German market and in German language. You can find it on http://www.bhv.de/PuertoRico (or amazon.de etc). Price is low at around 20€.

The game is a 1:1 implementation of the original board game rules with extension tiles. You can play single player, LAN or internet (p2p) with up to four other human or computer players. The package also includes a set of the official 24 extension tiles for the board game in German language! This was in fact the main reason for me to buy the game, because AFAIK there is no other way of getting the German extension tiles in original print.

About the AI implementation: I am not too experienced in PR, I've maybe played about 50 games total, one half in realspace and the other on BSW. Yesterday I tried about 10 games alone with two computer players at highest strength level. My impression was that the AI players play about as good or bad as a human player with no more than 3-5 games of gaming experience. I won every game by a far amount with different strategies and without a real challenge. Maybe it was because the AI players did NOT follow any particular strategy. Nothing really surprising, but still a bit disappointing.

About the gaming interface: It is rather bad also, way behind the BSW interface or other AI projects from this BGG community, because you can only see your own island space and ONE opponent's at the same time, regardless of your display resolution. You can swith between the opponents, of course, and you can always see at least all of their doubloons and goods, but you are still missing a good overview. The plantation tiles, buildings and workers are also far from easy to recognize.