Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Trias» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification on drifting "further" from the south pole rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Perucca
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
The rules about tile drifting state that the new location must be "further from the south pole than where it was."

I went out and bought a hex game mat with 50mm hexes and labeled the hexes based on their distance from the pole (center-of-hex to center-of-hex). The pole was labeled 00. The first 6 hexes adjacent to the pole were labeled 10. The second layer of 12 hexes were labeled 21 at the hex-points and 20 at the hex-side-centers. The third layer of 18 hexes were labeled 31 at the hex-points and 30 at each of the hex-side-centers. Etc.... See below.

So, if you drift a tile, you must drift to a higher number. Thus, it's possible in the higher layers to drift from the hex-side-center towards the hex-point on the same layer.

For example, in the diagram below, I can drift a tile on hex 60 to hex 61 (assume all other rules for drifting are met).

Is this right?

Trias hex-grid numbering (out to 6 layers):


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not correct. Just count the distance from South Pole in hex tiles. Both 60 and 61 are located 6 hexes away from the South Pole.

Also see Example 2 in the rulebook: the X tile can not be placed next to the top-left A tile in the diagram because the distance from the South Pole would remain the same (3 hexes).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Perucca
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
So, the distance is measured in number of hexes, not ruler distance.

Yah, the second example doesn't show any possible moves where the ruler distance is greater when the number-of-hex distance is the same.

Oh well, they should've been more clear in the "drift" rules by specifically stating "The players drifts the tile to a different location further in hex count from the south pole than where it was." Too bad you have to go to the example to decipher that rule tid bit.

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.