Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Trek Deck Building Game: The Original Series» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing for Basic Character effects rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Bakke
United States
Augusta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Must the Basic Character effects be applied *immediately* following the successful completion of a Mission or may they be used at any time prior to the end of your turn?

Example: After completing a Mission, a Lieutenant may be upgraded to a Commander. This would require returning the Lieutenant to the Starbase pile and placing the gained Commander in your discard pile. If you had not yet spent your Lieutenant's XP, they would be lost. Must the Lieutenant be upgraded *immediately* upon completion of the Mission or can his XP be spent first prior to his being auto-upgraded later in the turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bakkster wrote:
Must the Basic Character effects be applied *immediately* following the successful completion of a Mission or may they be used at any time prior to the end of your turn?

Example: After completing a Mission, a Lieutenant may be upgraded to a Commander. This would require returning the Lieutenant to the Starbase pile and placing the gained Commander in your discard pile. If you had not yet spent your Lieutenant's XP, they would be lost. Must the Lieutenant be upgraded *immediately* upon completion of the Mission or can his XP be spent first prior to his being auto-upgraded later in the turn?


The designer explained, for the previous "Next Generation" version of the game, that when a character is played to your bridge, the XP they grant goes into an XP pool. If the character is later removed from your bridge (e.g. upgraded due to a mission or card like Memory Alpha), that XP is still in the pool and can still be spent to complete a mission, buy a card or repair your flagship.

*edit* Using XP to complete a mission requires the character who granted to the XP to be in your bridge, as discussed here. All other uses of XP (e.g. spending it) come from an XP pool, and in those cases, it doesn't matter what happened to your character.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Bykov
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
The effect must be used immediately, with the exception that if multiple effects happen at the same time, you can choose in which order to apply them. Such as multiple Basic Characters in your bridge plus a Reward from a Mission you just completed.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Borders
United States
San Francisco Bay Area
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is that all 'effects' (flip effects, card effects, and mission/event fail effects/rewards) take place immediately.

However, if the effect gives you some bonus (such as '+1 explore' or '+3 XP') then losing the card doesn't cost you the bonus - you got the bonus when you played the card. Some players use poker chips or some such to track things like XP and searches in order to deal with this.

Some other examples of effects:

"The next time you explore, you get X" You have this effect for the rest of the turn - regardless of what happens to the character that gave you the effect.

Some effects will explicitly state 'If X happens while this is on your bridge' - here, if the card has been removed by another effect, it no longer applies.

Hope this helps.
Alex
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bakke
United States
Augusta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ABykov wrote:
The effect must be used immediately, with the exception that if multiple effects happen at the same time, you can choose in which order to apply them. Such as multiple Basic Characters in your bridge plus a Reward from a Mission you just completed.


So, just to make sure I have it straight, if you upgrade the Lieutenant to a Commander immediately after completing a Mission, do you lose the Lieutenant's unspent XP or do they go into a pool that can be spent whether or not the Lieutenant is still on your bridge?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Bykov
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
The XP is in the pool the moment you play the Character. Doesn't matter what happens to him afterwards.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bakke
United States
Augusta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ABykov wrote:
The XP is in the pool the moment you play the Character. Doesn't matter what happens to him afterwards.


Thank you. That clears everything up. BTW, this is the *best* of the three Star Trek Deck Building games so far. My group is having *great* fun with it! I hope there's more to come.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doobermite
United States
Chester County
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "XP pool" thing is very important and should have been included in the rulebook. In our first couple of learning games we were upgrading basic characters, not realizing that we were able to hold onto those XP points. I realize now we could have bought stuff first, completed a mission, then upgraded the characters so it's really the same thing either way. I just wish it was mentioned.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.