Subject: What Character Skills Do You Like/Dislike? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Voodoo Chile
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm new to this game, and feel like I'm on the verge of actually being able to beat the solo conquest scenario without the bending of, or liberal interpretations of the rules. One thing, I'm stuck on is how to best pick my characters class skills. So I wanted to ask the pros what their favorite, and least favorite skills are for each character?

Across the characters, there are some broad themes that repeat themselves. Here are some of my noob thoughts on each of these categories. Tell me how I'm mistaken!

Mana generating skills -
I can always find a use for mana, and like these quite a bit. It's probably wrong to take too many of them, but I'm not at the point where I know what colors my character will need the most.

Movement skills
- I always feel short on movement, but somehow I can't bring myself to take these skills, and I think because it's only +1 for non-preferential times of day. Am I wrong to not be taking these?

Ranged/Siege skills
- The more I play, the more I really value ranged and siege attacks. However, it doesn't seem like the numbers on these skills are high enough. Am I wrong to not be taking these?

Influence skills - I hate not being able to do useful things when I'm at a recruiting/training site because I don't have the influence cards in my hand. But I imagine I'd hate it even more to be trying to take on a hard fight and having one of my skills be to do with influence

For the unique character skills, I think I like Arythea's the best. Polarization is great, and being able to turn wounds into an asset rather than a crippling debilitation seems really strong to me. On the other hand, I think I find Norowas' skills to be the weakest.

Thanks in advance for helping me to become a better player!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools