Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Spearpoint 1943: Village and Defensive Line Map Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: A Buried Tank scenario rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Walis
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The special rules state that due to weather conditions, no aircraft, pilots, tanks, or tank crews are allowed.Since the starting units include two crewless Shermans, it would seem that tank crews could be included in the reserve deck to enable the Americans to re-occupy these units and fire their weapons. Is this correct?

Under these same conditions, can the M7 Priest be used as a strictly rear line artillery unit, which is unable to enter the map?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Collins
United States
Suffolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RTOhio wrote:
The special rules state that due to weather conditions, no aircraft, pilots, tanks, or tank crews are allowed.Since the starting units include two crewless Shermans, it would seem that tank crews could be included in the reserve deck to enable the Americans to re-occupy these units and fire their weapons. Is this correct?


The intent is that those two knocked out Shermans act as cover for advancing US infantry- any friendly infantry units gain the defense of the tank "wreck" minus 2- even if the tank is not crewed-- similar to the Tiger I "Wreck" Feature Tile. This should be more clear, but the intent of restricting tank crews in Reserves is to not allow re-crewing of these tanks. Mainly because the tank is partially knocked out and the weather is so bad it would just be sitting there immobile as a sitting duck for that Panther Turret emplacement to fully destroy if re-crewed. At least that was the intent.

RTOhio wrote:
Under these same conditions, can the M7 Priest be used as a strictly rear line artillery unit, which is unable to enter the map?


Yes, this is okay. Good question. It's a SPG, so as long as it remains off board on the rear line, that should be fine. Most of the deck will consist of rear line support units such as this or 105s for the US.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.