Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does the VP Track limit VPs to 28? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Howard MacKinnon
Canada
New Glasgow
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In our last game at the end of turn 5 the Protestant was at 24 and England at 23. By the end of turn 6 the Protestant was at 28 and England was about to roll for Shakespeare in the hope that 3VPs would bump him to 29 and victory. But then the Protestant pointed out that 28 was the maximum VP's possible and since he was at 28, and had been ahead last turn and would therefore win a tie, he had already won the game regardless of the English roll.

On the one hand, the artificiality of a 28 VP limit seems absurd but on the other, as the Protestant quite correctly pointed out, there is an empty space on the VP track where a 29 could easily have been printed if 29 VPs was permitted. What possible reason could there be for the empty space other than that a 28 VP limit was intended? And yet there is no reference to this in the rules. But there are plenty of rule-like instructions on the various charts so isn't it reasonable to ascribe meaning to the absence of a 29 when it could have been so easily included? But then what conceivable rational could there be for a 28 VP limit?

So, which of these equally absurd, but exhaustive conclusions is correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tell your Protestant player that if there were a maximum, it would be in the rules. There is no limit.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
I've never noticed that empty spot before ... that's really weird. But yes, Dave is right. There is no upper VP limit.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.