The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
Pål Toler
Sweden
Uppsala
Unspecified
flag msg tools
OF GAMES
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the latest FAQ:

(1.01) Encounter Keywords
Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur enters play, including during setup.

Does this mean that the Ambush keyword is NOT resolved during setup?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Join the BGG Folding @Home Team !!
badge
This user had more :gg: than sense
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fatty wrote:
From the latest FAQ:

(1.01) Encounter Keywords
Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur enters play, including during setup.

Does this mean that the Ambush keyword is NOT resolved during setup?
I suspect that it means that FFG forgot to update the FAQ again or did not think through the implications of their new keyword. But who knows.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Ambush is a new keyword used in the Road to Rivendell
scenario. When an enemy with the ambush keyword
enters play, each player, starting with the first player and
proceeding clockwise, must make an engagement check.
The engagement check is only made against the enemy
that just entered play, and not other enemies that are in the
staging area. If the enemy engages a player as the result of
this effect, then no further engagement checks are made
against it." (RtR rules)

I'd say you check it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Eagle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:
I'd say you check it.


Agreed. There's no problem here.

The statement in the FAQ referred to by the OP was a modification to the rules, because the rulebook stated that Doomed and Surge only applied during the staging step of the quest phase.

There is no uncertainty regarding ambush - the quoted section from the RTR rulesheet is clear that this applies whenever an Ambush enemy enters play. There is also, therefore, no need for the FAQ to clarify this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.