Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Battle Beyond Space» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dreckach Capital Defense Shield FAQ issues rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Karl von Laudermann
United States
Unspecified
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
I have one question and one comment regarding the Dreckach's Capital Defense Shield as clarified in the posted FAQ.

First, the FAQ says that the card's text should be changed so that it gets activated when the ship is first "damaged", rather than "shot". IMHO, this raises a new ambiguity: does the ship take the damage before activating the shield, or does the shield prevent the damage from occurring?

Second, the FAQ says that the Dreckach player should put 3 shield tokens on the card when activated, and remove one at the end of each of the Dreckach player's next 3 turns. However, it would make more sense to remove the token at the beginning of the turn of the player who damaged the ship. Consider the case of a 4-player game, where Player 1 is the Dreckach. Assume that the answer to the above question is that the shield prevents the damage. Suppose Player 3 attacks Player 1's capital ship, thus activating the shield. In this case, Player 3 now has 3 turns in which they cannot damage the capital ship (starting with the current turn). Likewise, Player 4 has 3 turns where they cannot damage that capital ship. But if Player 1 removes a token at the end of each of their next 3 turns, Player 2 only gets two turns where they cannot damage the ship, since the third token is removed immediately before Player 2's third turn after the shield went up. In other words, the Dreckach player is invulnerable from Players 3 and 4 for three of their respective turns, but for only two of Player 2's turns. Thus, the token should be removed at the start of Player 3's turn, so that Player 2 has a third turn where they cannot damage the ship.

Note further that if the answer to my first question is that the ship does take damage before the shield goes up, then the tokens should instead be removed at the end of the damaging player's turn, to ensure that the damaging player subsequently gets 3 turns being unable to damage the ship further.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Branham
United States
Duluth
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
New Dia die Los Muertos. Lighter, sillier, and Stickers.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Oops. The ship itself is not damaged when its shields are activated. My bad.

2. I see your point about balancing the turns between opposing players. I picked end of the Dreckach turn just because of tradition. You usually track long term special power usage on the owning player's turn.

Your concern is about an imbalance, and after a bit of thought I'm not sure that balancing opposing player turns is THAT important in this case.

By definition, the ship will be undamaged when the shield drops. That means in your example that player 2 may get a chance to damage the ship, but won't be likely to be the one to take it.

And ending it on player 4's turn ALSO gives our Drechkach another of his own turns to react and deal with incoming threats, which gives a bit more boost to the power than if he used it on player 2's turn. That would give players 3 and 4 a chance at him after the shield drops.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.