Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dungeon Twister: Mercenaries» Forums » Rules

Subject: Armories rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Johan Haglert
Sweden
Örebro
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's 10 neutral objects in the expansion, the introduction tell you to make two piles of 8 neutral objects each of both players pick rooms with armories and finally the armory description tell you to put 8 neutral objects to the side.

What is it?

Should the rope be a armory item or just generic item somewhere else?

I suppose it's 8 or 10 objects in total or 8 of the 10 objects possibly (but how do that matter since you can't raid the armory multiple times anyway? You pick which ones?) but in two different piles (as if that matters really.)


Also the armory got a portculies. The rule book says to spend 1 AP from an adjacent room to search the armory and later put a broken portculies over the armory.

Do that mean that you open and search it for 1 AP and then put the broken portculie where the locked one was before or do you have to open the closed one with a key and 1 AP first and then search the armory with another AP and put yet another open portculies marker over the room square so to speak?


Thanks in advance.

The rule book is a little weirdly written considering some things are discussed before they has been introduced in the text (such as neutral items before armories are introduced.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Weber
Germany
Augsburg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are 10 neutral white square objects. 2 of them are Treasures which go with the Golden Dragons. The other 8 are for the 6 armories on the room tiles. For a full object list see http://www.dungeontwister.org/glossaire2.php?id=26.

If you play Full Frontal and you and your opponent both use rooms with armories you bring your 8 armory objects and your opponent brings the 8 armory objects from his game. But you can draw from both piles, not only your own. For example, if you have already randomly drawn a Dragon Slayer and want another one you should draw from the other pile.

If you don't play Full Frontal you have only one pile with 8 objects.

After an armory has been searched you place a broken portcullis marker on top of it. This is only to show that this armory is empty now, you don't need keys to search an armory.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Haglert
Sweden
Örebro
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aubigny wrote:
There are 10 neutral white square objects. 2 of them are Treasures which go with the Golden Dragons. The other 8 are for the 6 armories on the room tiles. For a full object list see http://www.dungeontwister.org/glossaire2.php?id=26.
Thank you. Noticed this looking at the pieces later on.
Aubigny wrote:
If you play Full Frontal and you and your opponent both use rooms with armories you bring your 8 armory objects and your opponent brings the 8 armory objects from his game. But you can draw from both piles, not only your own. For example, if you have already randomly drawn a Dragon Slayer and want another one you should draw from the other pile.
I thought full frontial was "play a 2 player game only using mercenaries" but maybe it's not? Maybe it's playing a 3-4 player game using only mercenaries? Because one expansion box is supposed to hold everything for a two player game right? And as such I got 8 mercenaries rooms but only the 8 armory objects rather than 16?
Aubigny wrote:
If you don't play Full Frontal you have only one pile with 8 objects.

After an armory has been searched you place a broken portcullis marker on top of it. This is only to show that this armory is empty now, you don't need keys to search an armory.
Ok, and "on top of it" means on top of the portcullis shown at the edge of the armory? So it's 1 AP to open and search and later you leave it open but empty? Rather than 1 AP to use a key to open the door and then 1 AP to search it and your put out two open portcullis markers?

Thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Weber
Germany
Augsburg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aliquis wrote:
I thought full frontial was "play a 2 player game only using mercenaries" but maybe it's not?

No.

Full Frontal:

First you decide which boxes/expansions you use (at least two), then every player chooses 8 characters, 6 objects and 2 room pairs. In a tourney every player would use his own boxes because of the rooms and then it would be possible to have room pairs twice in a game. For a casual Full Frontal game without double expansions you have to make a house rule how to choose rooms.

aliquis wrote:
Because one expansion box is supposed to hold everything for a two player game right?

Yes, but not for Full Frontal unless you use house rules.

aliquis wrote:
Ok, and "on top of it" means on top of the portcullis shown at the edge of the armory? So it's 1 AP to open and search and later you leave it open but empty? Rather than 1 AP to use a key to open the door and then 1 AP to search it and your put out two open portcullis markers?

You don't have to "open" the armories. If you stand beside them without a wall or a closed portcullies in between (you also can't enter them, they are 3D-obstacles) you can use 1 AP to search them. After one search an armory is empty and you place a token on this armory to remind you that you can't search it again. Because there are lots of portcullis tokens in the game, the rules say you should use a portcullis tokens, but you could use a red marble or anything else.

There is one armory with an adjacent portcullis. Of course you have to either open this portcullis before you can search this armory or stand on the other side and search from there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Haglert
Sweden
Örebro
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aubigny wrote:
There is one armory with an adjacent portcullis. Of course you have to either open this portcullis before you can search this armory or stand on the other side and search from there.
Yeah that was the one I happened to have looked at. When playing the game I noticed that wasn't the case for others.

Thank you

Too bad about the room pairs but I think we'll do fine by say putting out all the 8 room pairs and then one player make a pick of one room pair first and then the other player with another one or something such.

I suppose picking units after picking room pairs (with knowledge of them) make more sense that way to. But of course it doesn't have to be that way.

Should had bought the two french expansions when they was cheap (at least as listed) somewhere 1+ year ago.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.