Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Caught in a mechanism
Brazil
RJ
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to deck building games, having only played Ascension once before trying this. I got unlucky, the rule book is the product of klingon culture: "Start of Game" is section seven on page 18; important rules are explained in the Glossary; etc. It also seems to take for granted previous knowledge of deck building mechanisms and makes learning what seems to be a very simple game harder than Race for the Galaxy (which I have learned without much fuss and enjoy quite a lot).

Here are some intriguing questions for your delight. Please don't get from them the impression that I am mentally challenged.

(1) About the most basic mechanism of the game: buying cards. I want to buy a card in Starbase. I match its XP cost with the total XP of one or more of the cards in my hand. I take the desired card from Starbase and move it to the discard area in my player area. The card(s) I've used to buy the new card also go into my discard area. Do I get that right?

(2) Supposing I understood how to buy cards: can I use the change of a card acquisition to buy another card in the same action? For instance, I have the "James T. Kirk" card in my hand and it has 9 XP. Can I buy with it a "Hand Phase Type 2" (4 XP) PLUS a "Commander" (5 XP)?

(3) On page 4, the book says "left over starter cards can be set aside or shuffled into the Starbase Deck". What difference does this option make in terms of game difficulty/complexity/duration?

(4) Whenever the manual says "flagship", is it equivalent to "starship"?

(5) I explore the Space Deck and flip an event which has a Fail effect. I do not meet the goal. I apply the the Fail effect. Does the event remain in play or is it moved to the bottom of the Space Deck?

(6) During battles, where do the "shields" come from? Are they the defense points of the cards on my bridge area?