Hide
6 Posts

Axis & Allies 1941» Forums » Rules

Subject: Aircraft Carriers and Sea Battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
RebelSurf 86
msg tools
I'm new to the game, so excuse me if this seems like a simple question.

If I have a carrier with planes and it gets attacked at sea, do the planes join in on the attack or do they go down with the ship if it is destroyed?

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The planes will defend in the air along with the carrier. Of course, they can't hit any attacking subs if there is no defending destroyer.

If the carrier is sunk but one or more planes survive, the surviving plane(s) will be able to move up to one space during the Noncombat Move phase of the same turn to find a place to land. If a landing space is not available, the plane(s) will be lost.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RebelSurf 86
msg tools
Thanks for the response!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack North
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
There seems to be a contradiction in the Rulebook on the subject of Aircraft Carrier combat: on page 13 it states that "guest" fighters on a carrier (those belonging to another friendly player) remain as cargo on the carrier during the Combat Movement phase and "they cannot take part in combat and are destroyed if the carrier is destroyed."

But then on page 26 it says "whenever a carrier is attacked, its fighters (even those belonging to friendly powers) are considered to be defending in the air and fight normally..."

Those statements contradict each other. (To me the second entry sounds more realistic.)