Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Put into play" vs "Play" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J B
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
When a deck says that a card is "put into play" from a deck or trash or whatever source, is that the same as "playing" the card? Some cards have rules that activate when a card is "played" but I'm not sure if
putting a card into play" counts for that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dypaca
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Putting a card into play is different from playing a card. It has the same exact same effect, except that you don't enforce any restrictions or reactions which would apply when the card is played.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J B
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
dypaca wrote:
Putting a card into play is different from playing a card. It has the same exact same effect, except that you don't enforce any restrictions or reactions which would apply when the card is played.



Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Related question: Can a One-Shot card be "put into play"? If so, is it just played and discarded like normal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dypaca
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jda1974 wrote:
Related question: Can a One-Shot card be "put into play"? If so, is it just played and discarded like normal?

Yes and yes, assuming by 'played' you mean 'follow the instructions on the card'. However the card is technically not played in case you have something that goes off every time a card is played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.