Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Engagement rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You only ever attack one enemy at a time. While you're attacking that enemy, all other enemies engaged with you are completely ignored. So yes, you ignore their shields. After that attack's over, then you may attack a second, different, enemy and it again is treated in isolation. After that attack's over, you may ..., and so on.

The turn sequence is quite strict. All engagements happen in phase 5, and it's irrelevant whether you engage it or it engages you, the result is that the enemy is engaged with you. Then you enter the combat phase, defend against each engaged enemy, then do the attacks you choose. So no, you can't attack an enemy before it attacks you, even if it was you who chose to engage it. (Unless of course you trigger effects that allow you to do so.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, each attacks separately. Which usually means 3 different defenders are required, one for each attack (unless you go undefended, or have a means to refresh a tapped defender in between times).

I have a player aid in the files section that's a pretty detailed 1 pager, and that might help get the turn sequence down pat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There's not that many files in the file section, and there's only one with my name on it :-)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.