Hide
17 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » General

Subject: Compare Mage Knight to Thunderstone? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Not Telling
msg tools
Hi all, I'm relatively new to board gaming, and I was looking for something dungeon crawling-ish that could be played solo, which is likely going to account for most of the play. I used to have warhammer quest as a kid, but that got sold after moving out.

Anyways, the two that I've come upon that seem most viable are Thunderstone (one of the variants at least), and mage knight. I can't really tell the differences between them, and nothing that I've seen really compared them. Can somebody weigh in on the advantages/disadvantages of the two? How are they different/similar. Or if there's something else I might enjoy feel free to suggest it.

I'm looking for something with some depth rather than just "X is better" or "get Y/both".
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wil
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
Read more comics!
mbmbmbmbmb
themadcow wrote:
Hi all, I'm relatively new to board gaming, and I was looking for something dungeon crawling-ish that could be played solo, which is likely going to account for most of the play. I used to have warhammer quest as a kid, but that got sold after moving out.

Anyways, the two that I've come upon that seem most viable are Thunderstone (one of the variants at least), and mage knight. I can't really tell the differences between them, and nothing that I've seen really compared them. Can somebody weigh in on the advantages/disadvantages of the two? How are they different/similar. Or if there's something else I might enjoy feel free to suggest it.

I'm looking for something with some depth rather than just "X is better" or "get Y/both".

As a fan of both, I can say that Thunderstone and Mage Knight are two of my favorite solo games. That said, Thunderstone gets to the table far more often.