Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Great Zimbabwe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rulebook example misprint? (placing a secondary producer) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nate S
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edit: Oops, I missed an earlier thread covering the same topic: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/875632/building-secondar... - It is indeed an error on the illustration.

This gave me fits trying to learn the game directly out of the rulebook at BGG today. Ultimately I decided the first illustration on page 7 of the rulebook must be in error.

The illustration seems to show an illegal placement for the Sculptor. From the Carver, it is 2 steps to reach the water, then 2 more steps to reach the Sculptor. 4 steps, out of range, can't build the Sculptor in that location because it can't be reached from a Wood Carver.

If we add the monuments present in the right-hand column's illustration (for the production example), the Sculptor placement would be legal: It now has access to the Wood Carver by using the upper left Monument as a hub. After trying to make sense of the rules vs. the example for a while, I decided that the monuments were probably omitted from the left-hand illustration by accident.

Or perhaps I am misreading the placement rules somehow?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Jeroen Doumen confirmed there's an error in the example. There's indeed a monument missing.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate S
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
msaari wrote:
Yes, Jeroen Doumen confirmed there's an error in the example. There's indeed a monument missing.

Ah, sorry, is there a thread somewhere? I looked through the forums before posting but could have missed it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate S
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Found it: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/875632/building-secondar...

Oops! Sorry 'bout the duplicate thread.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.