This gave me fits trying to learn the game directly out of the rulebook at BGG today. Ultimately I decided the first illustration on page 7 of the rulebook must be in error.
The illustration seems to show an illegal placement for the Sculptor. From the Carver, it is 2 steps to reach the water, then 2 more steps to reach the Sculptor. 4 steps, out of range, can't build the Sculptor in that location because it can't be reached from a Wood Carver.
If we add the monuments present in the right-hand column's illustration (for the production example), the Sculptor placement would be legal: It now has access to the Wood Carver by using the upper left Monument as a hub. After trying to make sense of the rules vs. the example for a while, I decided that the monuments were probably omitted from the left-hand illustration by accident.
Or perhaps I am misreading the placement rules somehow?