Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Pursuit of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: GE/BU XI Army resstrictions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Kuehler
United States
Roanoke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules say the XI Army is German AND/OR Bulgarian. Is this unit prohibited from entering swamp spaces as all BU LCU are?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Urrgh. Kristian, where are you getting your answer from?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Anderson
United States
Elk Grove Village
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If it counts as BU for all purposes I would agree unless there's another rule somewhere I can't find.
But since the only swamps in the Balkans are Struma and Salonika perhaps it may not be that much of an issue?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Philip Thomas wrote:
Urrgh. Kristian, where are you getting your answer from?


Memory

It's counter to the normal "unit may count as either nationality" rule, but as far as I remember the ruling was that the GE/BU XI Army couldn't enter swamps as it would make taking Salonika too easy.

EDIT: previous threads on the issue:

* February 2009: GE/BU XI Army....can it enter swamps? - you refer to CSW.
* March 2009: Dual Nationality Units - Brad says yes, the XI Army can enter swamps but is corrected by Ahmet.
* August 2009: Mixed nationality unit Q - no definite answer but you lean towards "no XI Army in swamps".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ahmet Ilpars
Turkey
Istanbul
flag msg tools
mbmbmb

I think we never really settled this issue.

Historically XI army was a German army which had replaced many of its German divisions with Bulgarian divisions during several years in Balkan.

Bulgarians and Turkish formations had bad medical facilities and could not effectively fight against swamp oriented diseases.

I think we need to find a solution and add it to the living rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. Well my new ruling is, yes it can enter Swamps (but has to be GE when doing so, no using Allied RPs for example).

That means it complies with the normal dual-nationality rules so no special wording is needed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ahmet Ilpars
Turkey
Istanbul
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
That is a simple and effective solution.
Let's put it into the living rules as an example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I see no confusion in this. The rule about duel nationality units is clear. I assumed the benefit this gave the unit was intended as it would have been play tested that way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Anderson
United States
Elk Grove Village
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ilpars wrote:
That is a simple and effective solution.
Let's put it into the living rules as an example.


It's already there on page five. Second column, blue italics in Living Rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ahmet Ilpars
Turkey
Istanbul
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I need to download latest version then :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.