Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dark Pact and Stun rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Niclas Eldborn
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We have a little situation yesterday about the necromancers Dark Pact skill.
The necromancer becomes the target from a monster attack and the monster did 5 dmg and spend one of his surges to inflict Stun.
The necromancer rolled his defense and the result was 1 shield.
The necromancer decided to redirect all dmg to his Reanimate but our question is: what happen with Stun? The rules said that you must do dmg before Stun can be inflicted but the necromancer get 0 dmg. Do the Reanimate gets all dmg+Stun or only dmg and the Necromancer get the Stun?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From Rulebook, page 15
Conditions wrote:

Some abilities and effects have the chance of inflicting conditions, such as Poisoned, upon heroes and monsters. Additionally, some attacks have a
[surge] ability featuring a condition (such as Disease, Immobilize, Poison, or Stun). If the attack deals at least 1 [wound] (after rolling defense dice), the target suffers the listed condition.

[...]


Emphasis (underline) is mine.

So, the requirement for inflicting the condition is that the attack inflicts at least 1 wound (after having some of them canceled by shields rolled on defense dice), not that the target suffers at least 1 wound.

Applying this rule as written, I'd say that the Reanimate suffers 5 wounds, and the Necromancer suffers 0 wounds but is stunned (because of he is still the target of the attack). Dark Pact redirection involves only damages, not conditions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Williams
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
Painkeeper wrote:

Applying this rule as written, I'd say that the Reanimate suffers 5 wounds, and the Necromancer suffers 0 wounds but is stunned (because of he is still the target of the attack). Dark Pact redirection involves only damages, not conditions.


Agreed. Dark Pact doesn't change the target of the attack, and the way it's worded is that only wounds go to the other figure. Nothing about conditions, fatigue loss or other extraneous effects the attack might inflict on its target.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niclas Eldborn
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.