Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

High Frontier» Forums » Rules

Subject: Outposts on radiation hazard spaces rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Vincent
United States
Ridgefield
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've seen this happen a few times and wonder how other people resolve it.

A rocket enters a radiation hazard space and loses a critical component - either the thruster or a support for the thruster - such that it can no longer make burns. The next space he rocket would enter is a burn (for example a rocket traveling between HEO and GEO in either direction on the Earth-Mars path), so the rocket cannot move any further. The player moves the remaining components to an outpost in the rad hazard space and begins building another rocket to retrieve them. How does the radiation hazard interact with the outpost and subsequent missions?

Usually we just end up making a common sense judgment call. If the mission failed on the inbound leg, then the outpost is just inside the radiation belt, so rescue missions from earth don't need to cross the hazard to reach the outpost. Conversely if the mission failed on the outbound leg, the outpost is just outside the radiation belt and this any rescue mission that comes from the other side of the belt does need to cross.

I could see a harsher interpretation though that would require the outpost to make a rad check every turn (with a thrust of 0).

I only get to play HF infrequently, but this situation seems to come up often enough that it'd be nice to know he "correct" way to resolve it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The Mysterious Manor
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The effects of spaces always apply when you first enter them, so once you've resolved the radiation roll (or burn, hazard, etc.) you can safely remain on that space indefinitely.

Your rescue rocket or subsequent missions would still have to roll like normal when entering that space even with the outpost there.
8 
 Thumb up
0.10
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Eklund
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Woelf wrote:
The effects of spaces always apply when you first enter them, so once you've resolved the radiation roll (or burn, hazard, etc.) you can safely remain on that space indefinitely.

Your rescue rocket or subsequent missions would still have to roll like normal when entering that space even with the outpost there.


This is exactly right
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.