Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bidding, breaking ties question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Gelb
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When there is a tie in bidding on the influence track, the holder of the throne breaks ties.

Does this include ties of "0" value bids, or do those just slide down the track and stay in the order among other zeros?

example... Baratheon owns the throne and rebids the most...so he takes first place. Martell bids second highest and gets position 2. Tyrell and Lanister both tie for 3rd place bids, and Baratheon chooses to have Lannister take the win for the tie having Lannister take 3rd place and Tyrell take 4th. Stark and Greyjoy both bid nothing, and the previous turn greyjoy was ahead of stark (in spot 5) on the track...do they just remain in their current positions, or does Baratheon have the power to "break" that tie and place those two in any order among the last two spaces?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Al Villeneuve
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
asgelb wrote:
When there is a tie in bidding on the influence track, the holder of the throne breaks ties.

Does this include ties of "0" value bids, or do those just slide down the track and stay in the order among other zeros?

example... Baratheon owns the throne and rebids the most...so he takes first place. Martell bids second highest and gets position 2. Tyrell and Lanister both tie for 3rd place bids, and Baratheon chooses to have Lannister take the win for the tie having Lannister take 3rd place and Tyrell take 4th. Stark and Greyjoy both bid nothing, and the previous turn greyjoy was ahead of stark (in spot 5) on the track...do they just remain in their current positions, or does Baratheon have the power to "break" that tie and place those two in any order among the last two spaces?


Baratheon would break the "0" tie as well.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Gelb
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your option for zeros is impossible as you should remove all tokens from tracks before bidding.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Horrid Beast wrote:
Radziol wrote:
Your option for zeros is impossible as you should remove all tokens from tracks before bidding.


Not true... It does not matter where you are on the tracks, all that matters is how many influence tokens are used by players when bidding and who the current holder of the Iron Throne is.

I'm not sure how you understand my last sentence
"your" refers to author of the thread. His option with sliding all 0 bidders is wrong as rules says
Quote:
To resolve “Clash of Kings,” first remove all Influence tokens from the three Influence tracks on the game board
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Michaels
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And as a side note...if the current holder of the IT is Baratheon...but in the bidding Stark bid 5 and the rest zero, Baratheon would decide the order of 2-6 (as his final act of holding the IT). Stark would break ties(if any) on the following bids.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
al_fredo wrote:
And as a side note...if the current holder of the IT is Baratheon...but in the bidding Stark bid 5 and the rest zero, Baratheon would decide the order of 2-6 (as his final act of holding the IT). Stark would break ties(if any) on the following bids.

Yes, the owner of Iron Throne token is changed after resolving ties in 1st bidding, but before 2nd.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alfstar The Jvggernavt
Brazil
flag msg tools
I have a question,
in the first time that the houses are bidding (no one owns no track), how would a tie in the Iron Throne track be resolved?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Game starts with each player in a position on all 3 Influence Tracks - Baratheon controls the Iron Throne at the beginning. There is no time that "no one owns no track".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.