Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Clash of Cultures» Forums » Rules

Subject: When do you "win" a battle exactly? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are some obvious answers here: If you attack/defend and destroy all units of the opposition while still having at least one unit yourself.

But there are some cases, where it is not clear (at least for me ).

1) 2 Armies attack 2 Armies and 1 Settler; all Armies die, the Settler remains; did the defender win?

2) 2 Armies attack 2 Armies; 1 attacking Army dies, but none of the defender; attacker chooses to retreat; did the defender win?

3) 2 Armies attack 2 Armies; 1 attacking Army dies and 1 defending Army dies; attacker chooses to retreat; did the defender win?

4) 2 Barbarian armies attack 2 Armies; 1 attacking Armies dies, but none of the defender; Barbarians cease attacking after one round and go back to their settlement; did the defender win?

5) 2 Barbarian armies attack 2 Armies; 1 attacking Army dies and 1 defending Army dies; Barbarians cease attacking after one round and go back to their settlement; did the defender win?

6) 2 Barbarian armies attack 2 Armies; attacker loses nothing, but 1 defending Army dies; Barbarians cease attacking after one round and go back to their settlement; did the defender win?

Bye
Thanee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kolby Reddish
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Nope, settlers die if the army they are with are destroyed in battle. That said the rules still say if both sides are destroyed noone wins and noone loses.

2-6. The rules say the winner is determined by having destroyed all of the enemy forces, so I'd guess that noone wins when a retreat is executed either by player or by barbarians, but perhaps Christian will sound in on this to confirm.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
reddish22 wrote:
2-6. The rules say the winner is determined by having destroyed all of the enemy forces, ...


That's exactly the question... I didn't find anything like this in the rules.

Bye
Thanee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kolby Reddish
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's there under the combat section on page 12. It says when a player has all of his units destroyed, he loses the battle. If that is true, then that must be the conditions to win the battle as well. Hard to have a loser with no winer and vice versa.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Marcussen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You lose if you lose all your units. To win, your opponent must lose all his units and you must have some left.

So:

Quote:
1) 2 Armies attack 2 Armies and 1 Settler; all Armies die, the Settler remains; did the defender win?


No winner. Settler is eliminated with the army when eliminiated.

Quote:
2) 2 Armies attack 2 Armies; 1 attacking Army dies, but none of the defender; attacker chooses to retreat; did the defender win?


No winner. To win one must have units left and the enemy army destoyed.

Quote:
3) 2 Armies attack 2 Armies; 1 attacking Army dies and 1 defending Army dies; attacker chooses to retreat; did the defender win?


No winner since Barbarians survived the attack.

Quote:
4) 2 Barbarian armies attack 2 Armies; 1 attacking Armies dies, but none of the defender; Barbarians cease attacking after one round and go back to their settlement; did the defender win?


No winner since Barbarians survived the attack.

Quote:
5) 2 Barbarian armies attack 2 Armies; 1 attacking Army dies and 1 defending Army dies; Barbarians cease attacking after one round and go back to their settlement; did the defender win?


No winner since Barbarians survived the attack.

Quote:
6) 2 Barbarian armies attack 2 Armies; attacker loses nothing, but 1 defending Army dies; Barbarians cease attacking after one round and go back to their settlement; did the defender win?


No winner since Barbarians survived the attack.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. Thank you!

Bye
Thanee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michel Bastien
Canada
Montreal
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Quote:
Quote:
1) 2 Armies attack 2 Armies and 1 Settler; all Armies die, the Settler remains; did the defender win?


No winner. Settler is eliminated with the army when eliminiated.


Hi!

Still, this is strange. What is this supposed to represent?

MB


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kareem Koh
Malaysia
Puchong
Selangor
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I correct to assume that if both armies eliminate each other, the city the defending army was protecting remains? Does the mood of the city change?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Marcussen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
onetonmee wrote:
Am I correct to assume that if both armies eliminate each other, the city the defending army was protecting remains? Does the mood of the city change?


Correct. The city remains and the mood only changes if conquered (or hit by barbarians).

Have fun
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Szegedi
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok so....?

If 1 army attacks an Empty city
With a Fortress...

Is it an automatic Win (take over city?)
Or does defender get to play a Battle card
(Along with attacker) and then roll
1 die for the fortress... to see if
The attacker will lose his
Army unit thus losing the battle?

How is this handled in battle?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klutz
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am a "certified" art critic.
badge
I am a professional BGG commenter.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
holywolfman wrote:
Ok so....?

If 1 army attacks an Empty city
With a Fortress...

Is it an automatic Win (take over city?)
Or does defender get to play a Battle card
(Along with attacker) and then roll
1 die for the fortress... to see if
The attacker will lose his
Army unit thus losing the battle?

How is this handled in battle?


That is correct.

If you (or barbarians) attack a city with a Fortress, but no army units, there is a single round of combat in which the Fortress participates.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.