Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Crown of Roses» Forums » Rules

Subject: Entangled in retreats rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Björn Engqvist
Sweden
Goteborg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
I came to thinking about retreats. What exactly does this Retreat Path Restriction mean (20.5.4, third bullet)?

Quote:
All Blocks from one stack must Retreat to the same Shire


Apart from the Attacker who in most cases has to retreat everything to the same shire, this seems to imply that you split your forces into stacks before retreating, or possibly that you remember which blocks made out your stacks before battle began but this seems clumsy.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bernatz
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It means you cannot split your retreat into separate Shires. The only time there is a separate "stack" is when you are moving with a designated Leader. You don't designate a Leader for Retreats, so all Blocks retreat together.

It makes massing large forces in one Shire dangerous, especially if you think your opponent has a forced retreat card. If you bring in Blocks from many Shires and congregate them in one, then you really want to make sure you win the battle so that you can use Post-battle movement. Otherwise, you're likely looking at Attrition for your Blocks.

-K
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Does it matter which Shire? Assuming that enemy held is clearly not legal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn Engqvist
Sweden
Goteborg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Okay Kevin while that makes sense, obviously, I believe there is a problem with the use of the term "stack" in the rules. There is a general meaning of stack as simply all blocks belonging to one player, as in 14.1.2:

Quote:
Each Player distributes a number of Step Losses equal to the affected Shire’s Value (SV) to their stack of Blocks in the Shire.


This is presumably the meaning that is applicable in the retreat section.

However, in numerous places in the Movement and Combat chapters, a stack is something different:

Quote:
16.1: Hereafter, “Stack”/”stack” will always refer to one or more Blocks moving together.


Quote:
16.6: To attempt an Evasion, the Enemy Player must declare
the attempt and form an Evasion Stack with a Leader and additional
Blocks, just like a Moving Stack in the Movement rules (16.1).


Quote:
20.3.1: When different stacks controlled by the same Player are involved in a combat with Enemy Blocks, the stack that determined the Engagement order is the Starting Force


So when the retreat rules talk about a stack having to retreat to the same shire, it is not really clear what this stack is, not to me anyway.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bernatz
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Doesn't matter which Shire, provided it meets the retreat requirements.

2) We can clarify 'stack' in that section, but (generally speaking) stack is as defined: "one or more blocks moving together". So we were simply talking about all the retreating blocks moving together, but perhaps its better to just spell that out in the retreat section.

-K
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.