Stephan Valkyser
Germany
Wesseling
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the "Dungeons deep and caverns dim" scenario, may I exhaust Bilbo to the Goblin Driver's effect?

Goblin Driver:
When Revealed: The first player exhausts 1 character he controls.


Edit: In the original post I had the name of the adventure wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure the rules insert states that the first player gains control of Bilbo. In that case, yes you may exhaust him to satisfy this effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffen Onkes
Germany
Norden
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see any reason why this shouldn't be allowed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Wilson
United Kingdom
Peterborough
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Bilbo is a character controlled by the first player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Valkyser
Germany
Wesseling
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course, I was just asking because Bilbo is separated from the rest of your heroes in the cave with Gollum, and the scenario card explicitly states that Bilbo is immune to player card effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stephan Valkyser wrote:
Of course, I was just asking because Bilbo is separated from the rest of your heroes in the cave with Gollum, and the scenario card explicitly states that Bilbo is immune to player card effects.


This is actually an excellent point. I neglected to note which quest your were talking about. What does the insert say on this quest?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
Bielefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the insert says that both staging areas are seperated and neither can effect the other. So I doubt you can satisfy the requirements of an encounter card in one staging area by exhausting a character in the other (riddle) staging are.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Eagle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The relevant text for Dungeons Deep and Caverns Grim is:
Quote:
Cards in the riddle area (including Bilbo Baggins) are
immune to player card effects and cannot leave the riddle
area except through specific quest card effects. While
Gollum is in the riddle area, he does not contribute his
threat during the quest phase and cannot be engaged by
the players. While Bilbo Baggins is in the riddle area, the
first player still controls him; however, he cannot quest,
attack, take damage from cards other than Gollum, have
attachments played on him by the players, or defend
(except against Gollum).


Strictly, it looks like this allows Bilbo to exhaust to Goblin Driver, though I wouldn't say this is in the spirit of the situation.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Valkyser
Germany
Wesseling
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jjeagle wrote:

Strictly, it looks like this allows Bilbo to exhaust to Goblin Driver, though I wouldn't say this is in the spirit of the situation.


Yes - and that's exactly my question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
Bielefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think what jjeagle said is correct: going strictly according to the wording you are allowed to exhaust Bilbo (because that is not exlcuded in the rule description) but I guess the idea is that Bilbo is separated and no interaction is possible. Anyway, you and your friends should decide how you want to play it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.