Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

No Peace Without Spain!» Forums » Rules

Subject: When exactly does Mediterranean control switch the first time? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wilhelm Fitzpatrick
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can build a case from the rule for either of these interpretations:

a) Initial Bourbon control is lost, and control is switched to the Alliance the *instant* either Cadiz or Lisbon comes under Alliance control.

b) Initial Bourbon control is lost, and the Alliance gains control of the Med in the first Winter Quarters phase in which the Alliance has control of Lisbon or Cadiz (after the -2 VP are assessed).

which is correct, A or B?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wilhelm Fitzpatrick
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Self Answer:

I dug the following out of the Consimworld pile that seems to say interpretation B is correct.

"Henry Bradley - Jul 3, 2012 12:54 am (#927 Total: 1021) - FALL OF CADIZ IN 1702 - In the game I am currently playing (as Bourbon) the Alliance has successfully taken Cadiz in 1702. In the Winter Quarters phase of 1702 does the Alliance still lose 2VPs? I think they do..."

Which was answered by the designer:

"Don Herndon - Jul 3, 2012 7:03 pm (#929 Total: 1021) - Correct. There is no way to avoid the 2VP loss in 1702, but by taking Cadiz on the first turn you avoid the penalty in 1703 and 1704 (assuming the Bourbons don't deploy the fleet and win a naval battle, or retake the space)."

http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@@.1dd130bb/946
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don H
United States
Atlanta
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Thanks for the question and follow up post. Hope you are enjoying the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denis Cobrousev
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do I understand right that:

Control of Mediterranean changes in tow cases only:
1) immediately after Toulon fleet's win and
2) in Winter quarters phase.

Capture of either Cadiz or Lisboa by either side does not affect control of Med. until Winter quarters phase.

?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wilhelm Fitzpatrick
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Denis, yes, it seems that control only shifts in those two cases. That was my conclusion, and Don seems to have endorsed it above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reinhard Mueller
Germany
Gauting
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Denis Cobrousev wrote:
Do I understand right that:

Control of Mediterranean changes in tow cases only:
1) immediately after Toulon fleet's win and
2) in Winter quarters phase.

Capture of either Cadiz or Lisboa by either side does not affect control of Med. until Winter quarters phase.

?

I am not so sure. Here is the way I understand it:

Med control works different for Bourbon and Alliance.

Bourbon takes control immediately:

"Once the Bourbons have lost initial control of
the Med, the Bourbon player can re-take control only during the
Campaign phase
, as a result of a naval battle won by the Toulon
Fleet (13.5.6), or as a result of taking control of both Cadiz and
Lisbon."

Alliance can only gain control during the Winter Phase and after the -2 VP adjustment:

"The Alliance player automatically regains control in the
Winter Quarters phase as long as he has control of either Cadiz
or Lisbon (or both)"

So, the Bourbons will get their 2 VP bonus even if they manage to control Madrid and Lisbon for a short while during the campaign phase.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.