Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Pandemic: On the Brink» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dispatcher & Troubleshooter rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sampsa Ritvanen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I tried to search the answer from previous posts, but I'm not sure if I got this right...

We had a game where I had the Dispatcher, my friend had the Troubleshooter. I know that I can use Dispatcher's special ability and move Troubleshooter in my turn. And if I use Direct flight, I have to use a card from my hand.

But can I still keep the card using Troubleshooter's special ability? It doesn't require action, so it should work like Dispatcher-Medic -combo - if the disease are cured, Medic removes cubes automatically when moved by Dispatcher. Am I right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
YaVerOt YaVerOt
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
Armchair warriors often fail, and we've been poisoned by these fairy tales.
badge
Aoi Aoi toki ga toke dasheta.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I doubt that the Dispatcher can keep the card using the Troubleshooter's ability. And that's how I'll play it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Dilloo
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
Everything is relative to perception, and your perception is limited.
badge
The Ginger Ninja
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yaverot wrote:
I doubt that the Dispatcher can keep the card using the Troubleshooter's ability. And that's how I'll play it.


Agreed. The medics ability of directly related to his movement (even via the Dispatcher), so that makes sense. Card effects like this wouldn't apply, IMHO.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Morcerf
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm more than able to follow through... Just not for everyone, maybe just for you.
badge
No lights on the horizon, no sign of what's ahead. If it wasn't for your kindness lately, I'd never get out of bed.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I read the card as letting the Troubleshooter reveal and keep the card when the Troubleshooter performs the direct flight action. If the Dispatcher is moving another player, then the Dispatcher is still the one performing that action and thus must discard. The reason the Medic's auto-treat of a cured disease works is because that's a free part of the Medic's movement and not an action. That ability is part of the Medic as a moving pawn(same for Containment Specialist), not an action.
There's a similar thread here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/678593/dispatcher-combo-....
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
saksi wrote:
We had a game where I had the Dispatcher, my friend had the Troubleshooter. I know that I can use Dispatcher's special ability and move Troubleshooter in my turn. And if I use Direct flight, I have to use a card from my hand.

But can I still keep the card using Troubleshooter's special ability?

No. The Dispatcher is moving the Troubleshooter using the Dispatcher's movement abilities.

However, if the Troubleshooter was using the Event Special Orders to move another player's pawn, the Troubleshooter would only have to reveal, not discard, a card used to move that pawn by Direct Flight. In this case, the Troubleshooter is moving another player's pawn using the Troubleshooter's movement abilities.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sampsa Ritvanen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks Tom and all the rest of you for clearing this out! It was kind of hard to separate the Medic's (or The Containment Specialist's) special abilities from Troubleshooter's, but now we know how to play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I believe that in the online version at Brettspielwelt (BSW) this not correctly implemented. It lets you keep the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Sendell wrote:
I believe that in the online version at Brettspielwelt (BSW) this not correctly implemented. It lets you keep the card.

This wouldn't surprise me. BSW implements other aspects of OTB incorrectly. Write to BSW and tell them. We have nothing to do with their implementation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.