Marko Dobranic
Croatia
Zagreb
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had active location The Spider's Ring that has text: While The Spider's Ring is the active location, the player guarding Gollum cannot change.

Then during quest phase I got treachery Wasted Provisions that has When revealed text: Discard the top 10 cards from deck of the player guarding Gollum. That player must choose a new player to guard Gollum, if able.

So, does Gollum go to other player or not?
Does '... if able.' refer to active location or presence of more players?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Wilson
United Kingdom
Peterborough
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It says the player only chooses a new player to control Gollum, if able.

The player is not able to choose a new controller for Gollum due to the active location, so Gollum doesn't change control.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Eagle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
kjpw_88 wrote:
It says the player only chooses a new player to control Gollum, if able.

The player is not able to choose a new controller for Gollum due to the active location, so Gollum doesn't change control.


Yes - it's also worth noting this, from the FAQ:

Quote:
(1.14) The word “cannot”
If a card effect uses the word “cannot”, then it is an
absolute: that effect cannot be overridden by other
effects.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.