Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Dominion: Seaside» Forums » Rules

Subject: Smugglers Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Would folks agree that Smugglers works according to the actual cost printed on the card and is not at all based on what the other player paid for it? For example, suppose the player had bought a Forge for 6 coins because they had also played a Bridge. Or suppose a Peddler was purchased for 4 coins because 2 action cards had been played. I would assume that playing the Smugglers still wouldn't permit you to gain one of these cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald X.
United States
flag msg tools
designer
schnel wrote:
Would folks agree that Smugglers works according to the actual cost printed on the card and is not at all based on what the other player paid for it? For example, suppose the player had bought a Forge for 6 coins because they had also played a Bridge. Or suppose a Peddler was purchased for 4 coins because 2 action cards had been played. I would assume that playing the Smugglers still wouldn't permit you to gain one of these cards.

It doesn't matter what was paid for the card they gained (or if they bought it at all), only what it costs when you play Smugglers. You can play two Bridges and then Smuggle a Province they got by Remodel-ing a Gold, and so on. You can't Smuggle a Peddler that they bought for $4, unless it somehow costs $6 or less when you play Smugglers.
22 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Watne
United States
Burlington
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Good times.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I understand it is that, during your turn, you may gain a copy of any one card that an opponent gained during their turn, so long as the cost does not exceed $6.

If an opponent plays Bridge/Highway, the cost is reduced for all cards during that turn. However, by your turn, the prices return to normal. Therefore, if an opponent managed to buy a $7+ card for $6 or less during their turn, you could NOT gain it via Smuggler, because at the time you played the Smuggler, the cost of that card was greater than $6.

The same holds true for Peddler; it is only less than $8 during the Buy phase of a turn, and therefore is always more than $6 during the action phase (barring cost-reducing actions).

Here's an interesting trick: If an opponent gains a Forge ($7), but during your turn you play Highway THEN Smuggler, the cost of the Forge is now $6 at the time you play the Smuggler. Good times.

[Edit: Ninja'd by the Man himself!] ninja
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Snertz
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
donaldx wrote:
You can't Smuggle a Peddler that they bought for $4, unless it somehow costs $6 or less when you play Smugglers.


somehow ;-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy London
Australia
Dianella, Perth
Western Australia
flag msg tools
badge
Free cider juice remedied dim river duck.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shrimple wrote:
donaldx wrote:
You can't Smuggle a Peddler that they bought for $4, unless it somehow costs $6 or less when you play Smugglers.


somehow ;-)

That's a good question actually. Does Peddler's price reduce the instant Smugglers is played, so that Peddler can always be smuggled while Smugglers is still being resolved? Or does an action card need to have finished being resolved before it causes Peddler's price to reduce?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Mezzomaniac wrote:
shrimple wrote:
donaldx wrote:
You can't Smuggle a Peddler that they bought for $4, unless it somehow costs $6 or less when you play Smugglers.


somehow ;-)

That's a good question actually. Does Peddler's price reduce the instant Smugglers is played, so that Peddler can always be smuggled while Smugglers is still being resolved? Or does an action card need to have finished being resolved before it causes Peddler's price to reduce?


Nope. As Peddler says, "During the buy phase, this costs $2 less per Action card you have in play..."

But you could make Peddler cost less via a bunch of Bridges, for example.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Whitney Barnes

California
msg tools
Just to reiterate, when you play Smuggler, that is when you assess the cost of the card you wish to smuggle. It doesn't matter what it cost when the previous person gained it, all that matters is what it costs when you play Smuggler.

And unless Bridges/Highways/Princess/or Quarry with the help of a Black Market, have been played, Peddler costs 8 during the Action phase. Only in the buy phase do you reassess the cost of Peddler by counting the number of action cards you have in play. Peddler's special text never applies in the action phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Horner
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dcclark wrote:
Mezzomaniac wrote:
shrimple wrote:
donaldx wrote:
You can't Smuggle a Peddler that they bought for $4, unless it somehow costs $6 or less when you play Smugglers.


somehow ;-)

That's a good question actually. Does Peddler's price reduce the instant Smugglers is played, so that Peddler can always be smuggled while Smugglers is still being resolved? Or does an action card need to have finished being resolved before it causes Peddler's price to reduce?


Nope. As Peddler says, "During the buy phase, this costs $2 less per Action card you have in play..."


Agreed. The standard Black Market exception doesn't help as it lets you play treasures in your action phase and not actions in your buy phase.

The only way it would be possible is if there was a special treasure card that let you play an action card in your buy phase. AFAIK, this does not exist.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.