Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using wounded units in combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tanner Thurman
United States
The Colony
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scenario: You have an non-wounded unit with an attack ability and start combat.

If you fail to block the enemy in the Block phase and assign damage (thus taking a wound) to your unit in the Assign Damage phase, can you still use the unit's attack ability in the Attack phase?

The rules seem to indicate that a wounded unit cannot activate for his abilities, but they also seem to indicate that you can activate the unit's abilities in any phase of combat and it persists the whole combat phase. Can you activate the unit's attack ability before assigning it damage?



Page 4, using units, section 5: A unit that is ready and not wounded may be activated for one of it's abilities, similar to playing a card from your hand.

Page 7, combat with enemies, section 5: Unless a restrictive effect is otherwise stated, you may play additional combat effects (that affect your Units, enemies, or combat rules) during any of these phases. Unless stated otherwise, that effect persists until the end of the turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Original Thumb #50
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
No.

You could activate it in the Siege Attack/Ranged Attack phase but if it's normal Attack, that wouldn't work.

If you activate it in the Assign wounds phase, the attack wouldn't be there during the Attack phase.

You could do something like a Block during the Block phase that has additional effects besides block even if the block won't totally block the attack in order to get the special effect to kick in.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with ohgrande. I believe "additional combat effects" refers to effects that are not attack or block but are other effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Despair wrote:
Can you activate the unit's attack ability before assigning it damage?


No. You can activate its attack ability at the time in the turn sequence that you activate attack abilities.

If you wanted to activate some other ability that is actually available at that moment (e.g., "Gain a green mana token") then sure, you could do that.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.