Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Displacement during a rebellion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Zack S.
United States
Honolulu
Hawaii
flag msg tools
mbmb
Since units and leaders get displaced both in step 3 (Displace Units) and step 4 (Control Spaces) of the rebellion procedure, can the same units or leaders get displaced multiple times? Are the displacements from the Control Spaces section done one at a time or do all the spaces get controlled and then units are displaced en masse?

Concrete example:
Paris and Orleans are French-controlled but Protestant religiously.
Rouen is Protestant-controlled.
Orleans is empty, Paris has regulars, mercenaries, and leaders.
A 2+ rebellion in Paris is successful.

In step 3 of the rebellion procedure the remaining mercenaries and leaders are displaced. Since the French have no other capital, they must go to the closest fortified space, currently Orleans.

In step 4 however, Orleans is chosen for control and the refugees are displaced again. Since they were moved to Orleans, the only "closest" option is Amboise, but when they were in Paris there were many fortifications 2 spaces away. I assume that's just how it goes, since the rules are pretty clear.

However a more complicated situation exists when there are two adjacent fortified spaces controlled in step 4 (say a 3CP rebellion targeting Chartres, with Orleans and Amboise as available options). Can you control them one at a time and chase the units in a specific direction or do you make all your control choices first, then displace anyone who's left behind?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, multiple displacements clearly can happen. I would assume the taking control of spaces in step 4 is simultaneous since no sequence is specified. If true, that would mean each unit can be displaced twice maximum.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.