Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: When dealing damage to all targets... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anders Pedersen
Denmark
Copenhagen N.
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If, at the start of the turn, a card deals damage to all targets and more cards are put in place due to card text on a destroyed card, do the newly placed cards also take damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
dbc- wrote:
If, at the start of the turn, a card deals damage to all targets and more cards are put in place due to card text on a destroyed card, do the newly placed cards also take damage?

Depends on the exact wording of the card. "Start of turn" is very specific so if new cards are entering play at the "start of turn" they should take damage. Can you post the cards in question?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Z
Germany
Heidelberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the most cases its like:

1.) Deal all target e.g. 1 Damange
2.) another cards comes into play
2.1) The new one is NOT afflicted cause the "damage-turn" was befor the new card enters the play

Hope this helps ^^ and if not correct me please


Damage 1 -> destroy a card A -> "when the card A is destroyed put card B into play" -> B is not at the beginning of the "damage all 1
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guy Steuperaert
Belgium
Desselgem
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It would still get damage according to me. It still is start of turn

For example at start of turn deal all non-hero target damage
If you can kill a card that would bring another card back. That other card would be in play at start of turn phase and would get damage.

Better to see start and end of turn as a whole phase not a moment in time.

At least thats how i see it and done it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent Lalyman
France
Strasbourg
France
flag msg tools
Nothing is really simultaneous in SotM. You resolve damage one at a time, and if the damage causes another effect, your resolve this effect before applying the next chunk of damage.

So, let's say you damage a card, destroy it, and this destruction brings a new card you can damage : the "damage all targets" effect is still on, so you can damage the new target.

The official example is using the End of Times card of Fanatic when Forced Deployment (a card of Voss) is in play :
- you destroy Forced Deployment
- immediately on destruction, you apply the text of Forced deployment, and so bring back all minions from trash
- and then, End of Days destroys each minion, including those you just brought back.

Another example with Bee Bot, from UNity's deck : if Bee Bot is the first to take damage from an environment or ongoing card, and is destroyed, you can then destroy the card that dealt damage before it can damage anyone else...

See https://sentinelsofthemultiverse.com/forum/topic/forced-depl...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Pedersen
Denmark
Copenhagen N.
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks all.
I have been playing it that way, but could not find the exact wording in the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.