Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mage Wars Arena» Forums » Rules

Subject: What is "psychic" damage? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
brendan b
United States
chicago
Select State
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We just searched through some decks, and didn't see anything that said it was a psychic attack...

We ask because we're a little unclear as to what "psychic immunity" encompasses.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bartosz Rzepka
Poland
Gdynia -> Poznań
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
In most cases, you have to search subtypes of cards (upper right corner, under the type of spell) - ie Pacify has subtype 'Psychic':
http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/uploads/mw/pacify-core.jpg

Sometimes it is mentioned in card text:
http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/uploads/mw/helm-of-fear-cor...

The best method to find if something is psychic effect is to ask yourself, is it affecting the mind of target - if yes, you should search the card for 'Psychic' trait and probably you will find it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Cannon
United States
Annapolis
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe you are asking about the Psychic damage (and icon) described under DAMAGE TYPES on pg. 30 of the rulebook. I don't believe there are any spells, creatures or equipment that use this icon....YET.

Awaiting expansions for this one to appear along with FROST damage and DEFROST rules.

There are some references in the card text as Gewar identifies above, but I am guessing that the Forcemaster will have this damage type as a main weapon similar to the Warlock's use of Flame damage.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brendan b
United States
chicago
Select State
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Guytan
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If a creature has Psychic Immunity, it cannot be put to Sleep with the Sleep spell.

I can't remember if there is another psychic subtype spell right now or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Hornberger
United States
lockport
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
From page 30 of the manual



"Psychic: Invisible mental or
telepathic effect or assault. Psychic
spells and attacks can cause the
Stun, Daze, or Sleep condition"

Any psychic spell has a purple eyeball symbol on it as seen on page 30
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Logicfray wrote:


Any psychic spell has a purple eyeball symbol on it as seen on page 30


Actually, this isn't strictly true. There are some psychic spells which only have the text 'psychic'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Cannon
United States
Annapolis
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spells with the trait psychic in the upper right corner of the spell card do not effect creatures with Psychic Immunity.

Attacks that deal psychic damage have the purple eyeball icon to reflect this damage type. Psylok is one example. These attacks or effects from these attacks do not effect creatures with Psychic Immunity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
Bielefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The codex entry for psychic immunity is a bit misleading: in addition to everything said above, psychic immunity grants immunity from sleep condition (because sleep is a psychic condition) but not from the daze or stun conditions because a psychic immune creature still can be stunned or dazed by light attacks and spells (daze and stun conditions are not psychic conditions). They should have removed the reference to daze and stun in the codex entry for psychic immunity as it can lead people to think it grants immunity against daze and stun conditions regardless of the source type.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.