David J. Mortimer
United Kingdom
Melksham
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Has anyone explored the possibility of using 3D printers for making custom dice? Is this at all viable? I have very little knowledge on this subject.

I have designed a game that requires 24 custom dice in 3 configurations and a few cardboard tokens. I am considering self publishing or kick starter and wondered if this is a path worth exploring.

Moulded dice are certainly very expensive for smaller runs and the laser etched dice I recently commissioned whilst perfectly satisfactory and reasonably priced for prototype sized runs weren't quite the quality I would desire for publishing.

Thanks for any input.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doc Hogan
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
(most) hobbyist level 3D printers leave pretty rough results, and definitely without the resolution to leave pips/symbols with acceptable quality. Also, most use a relatively soft PVC or vinyl which I doubt would 'feel' right for dice.

If you need to home-brew your prototype, you might want to look into order blank dice from Chessex or someone similar, and using stickers. For more advanced self-made dice, look into having blank dice laser etched; there are a few BGG users with laser cutters that you could talk to about it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laura Creighton
Sweden
Göteborg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Apparantly lots of people are doing it.
http://www.shapeways.com/blog/archives/864-Over-2000-3D-Prin...

Whether using Shapeways is any cheaper than what you have already investigated, I have no idea...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doc Hogan
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
lacreighton wrote:
Apparantly lots of people are dong it.
http://www.shapeways.com/blog/archives/864-Over-2000-3D-Prin...

Whether using Shapeways is any cheaper than what you have already investigated, I have no idea...