Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Pirate Dice: Voyage on the Rolling Seas» Forums » Rules

Subject: locked skullduggery rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Craft
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
So if an anchor die is on bell 4, and then the player goes down to 4 hit points, is the anchor still locked? Same for the rum barrel? This seems to make it more desirable to lose hot points if you can always do a skullduggery.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clint Herron
United States
Bethel
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
♜ ♞ ♝ ♛ ♚ ♝ ♞ ♜ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟
badge
♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♖ ♘ ♗ ♕ ♔ ♗ ♘ ♖
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it stays locked, even if it's skullduggery.

One of the more valuable aspects of skullduggery is the element of surprise -- which is lost when the skullduggery is locked, and your opponents can plan for it. So yes, it comes back around -- but it loses just a bit of its punch. The skullduggery remains locked against its target as well -- you can't re-aim it every turn.

If you think you might lose health, sure, you can try to lock in a skullduggery -- but that has a couple of drawbacks:
1) Skullduggeries are generally more "valuable" when played during earlier bells, so you're committing to always using that Skullduggery during a "late" bell
2) Dice with skullduggeries are the "power" dice, that have your x3 movement and your bonus cannonfire. So if you're locking away your skullduggery on a late bell, then you're depriving yourself of those otherwise potentially powerful commands.


Overall it's a bit of a silver lining, but it certainly comes with its disadvantages.


Thanks for your question!
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.