Recommend
8 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

New Amsterdam» Forums » Rules

Subject: ONCE-Around Auctions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeffrey Allers
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One thing that is important not to miss in the rule book of Nieuw Amsterdam are the rules to the auction, which begins each of the 6 rounds of play.

Each player, in turn order, is only allowed to make ONE BID. Players are not given an opportunity to raise their bids.

Players who have mistakenly played the auctions until all players but one pass have, naturally, added to the game's playing time. But there is also another important effect from the "once-around" auction mechanim:

It places a higher price tag on going first in the previous round.

Turn order is extremely important in the game, as the player going first in each of the 3 phases gets first pick of the land and ship cards and furs, and the first opportunity to build and score in the town.

Since the bidding is made in the turn order of the previous round, the starting player in that round must make the first bid, and it is unlikely she will get what she wants. The player last in turn order, on the other hand, gets the "last word" in the auctions, after "laying low" the previous round.

Bidding order is so strategic, in fact, that some players will purposefully attempt to get the last turn order marker in the 5th round so that they will be almost guaranteed their first pick in the last auction of the game!
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You'd have to be an idiot to miss that rule, it's plain as day in the manual. whistle
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
You'd have to be an idiot to miss that rule, it's plain as day in the manual. whistle

I concur.

However, thinking that the player initiating the auction bids last, rather than first, is a totally natural mistake that anyone can make and that might not get corrected for two games (hypothetically).








ninja
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, three plays before getting the rules right is pretty much standard.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.