Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Johns
United States
Huntersville
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey, I'm Alex, new-ish to BGG and definitely new to the Game Design hobby. I know it's much more than a hobby to many here, but I only have so much time after work, family and game nights with freinds to work on my game ideas. Those ideas, however, just don't go away, so I thought, as any good home-schooling parent would I assume, to put those ideas into action and actually make one of these thoughts that are tumble drying in my brain into a reality.
First a little backstory. If you don't want to read this, just skip down to the bolded section below, and that is where the actual game idea starts. I've been playing board games for about 3-4 years. It started out with about 5-6 guys who all met from a local dads forum called Carolina Area Dads (since becoming mostly defunct due to facebook) getting together and playing some of the latest PS3 games out there. we started with things like Street Fighter and Call of Duty, and then moved on to more party games ,like Rockband. It was fun, but there would be times when some guys would be just watching, so after a while, one guy brought in Carcassonne to play with those who would be bored while the others played. Slowly, less and less people would be playing the video game, and more would want to try whatever new board game there was, from Settlers of Catan to Ticket To Ride and all the expansions of Carcassonne there were. after a while, those not really interested in board games stopped coming, as we would be playing ONLY board games once Rockband ran its course.