Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Robinson Crusoe: Adventures on the Cursed Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: How do the Discovery tokens work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In my trial run of the first scenario, I explored a tile which gave me a "+ Palisade", but at that point I had not yet built a Shelter. What happens?

A) The Discovery must be discarded with no effect

B) The Discovery remains in the Available Resources space until I have built a Shelter, at which point I can turn that token in to set my palisade to 1

C) The Discovery remains in the Available Resources space until I have built a Shelter, but then I have to take another Build action to build up the Palisade, at which point the Discovery is spent instead of wood or furs

I'm likewise unclear on how to use most of the other Discovery tokens (+ Weapon, draw Treasure, get wood, get food, heal, etc.) — must they be used immediately when they move from Future Resources to Available Resources, or do they require an Action to use them, and if so which Action is required?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't think you needed a shelter to build a palisade. It is only a wall, right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 8:

Quote:
Palisade – usually protects you from Storm effects and some other effects during the game. To build a Palisade, the Ilsand tile where your Camp is located must already have Shelter (either built or discovered). Each time you build a Palisade, increase its level by 1 by adjusting the applicable marker on the main board.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Blaiberg
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You ned shelter, however, you could move your camp to a tile that has the shelter icon on it, and then you could build your pallisade.

You don't need a build action, just discard the token and increase your pallisade - so B is correct
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Box of Delights
United Kingdom
Neston
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
Visit me at www.boxofdelights.net
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trevin wrote:

I'm likewise unclear on how to use most of the other Discovery tokens (+ Weapon, draw Treasure, get wood, get food, heal, etc.) — must they be used immediately when they move from Future Resources to Available Resources, or do they require an Action to use them, and if so which Action is required?


Mostly they work the same way... you can leave them in your available resources spot until you are ready to use them.. then follow the instructions against each from the back of the rule book. e.g. +1 weapon level means move your weapon level track up one spot (it's not temporary).

Food+2 will rot, and the rules point this out. But the "goat" (which is the one which needs a weapon level > 0 to create into 1 fur and 1 food), does not rot. Mr goat is available until you decide to put it to rest...

Hope this helps, Rick (if you are unsure, watch my video playthrough )
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.