Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Samuel C.
United States
Deshler
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In a completely separate geeklist, one Fuzzydice82 said this about a posting of Twilight Imperium 3 questioning whether it is worth the time and money people put into it:

fuzzydice82 wrote:
Actually, this game was the exact game I had in mind when making the notes to this Geeklist to try to make sure it would be allowed. I've never played it, but I'm waiting for someone to convince me to get it

Alright, sir, here is my attempt. (note: all ratings are out of 5 stars. I have been playing games for about 2 years, have attended only local cons, and play this game about 4 times a year)

Rules

The rules are pretty standard Fantasy Flight. You will be awed by pretty pictures, and will learn the game very easily. You will not, however, understand any of the corner-cases, or rare combos that seem to contradict each other. Ah well, the FAQ is pretty filled out now.

Gameplay

The quickest way to explain the game is Axis and Allies meets Puerto Rico. Each player selects (clockwise) a role from the available strategy cards.

These include things like Diplomacy, Trade, and a personal favorite Political. These strategy tokens allow you to take a special power action once per round. When you do this action everyone else will have a shot at a lesser version of that power.
As a note - many people complain about the number 8 strategy as it gives you 2 of your 10 victory points upon use. While I rarely play with this tile (I use the expansion's variant tile). I think that this tile is very good if you do not have a long time to play. I have been blessed with friends who are willing to sink 8 hours into a game about 4 times a year, but if you can only swing 5-6 consider this tile (and you can always house-rule it a million ways from Tuesday if you really want).