Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: resource generation: to focus or not to focus? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrea Marino
Italy
Unspecified
ITALY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some effects in the game could trigger only if you "place focus tokens on a card to...", other could trigger only if you "focus a card to...".

You can read about this important difference at page 10 of the official rules, in " A Matter of Focus", where they stated that
Quote:
Some card abilities or game rules require one or more focus tokens to be placed onto a card. This does not cause the card to focus (i.e. trigger an ability or take some other action) but it does cause the card to become exhausted.


By searching for the word "focus" in the rules, at page 16, "Generating Resources", they carefully avoid to use the wording "to focus" but they always use "place a number of focus token".
So until here it seems that you don't focus any card to generate resource, but instead you simply place focus tokens.

But at page 17, "Resource Example #1" they use another wording, only one time, but it is still enough for me to have a doubt.
On the third paragraph you read:
Quote:
He could generate one resource each from both “Cloud City Casino” cards. However, neither neutral resource would have the resource match required to play a Jedi affiliation card. Instead, he focuses one “Cloud City Casino” (generating one neutral resource) and the “Forgotten Heroes” objective card (generating one Jedi resource). With two resources, including one that matches the affiliation of “Trust Your Feelings,” the LS player is able to pay the cost of the card and play it.


So, the question is: if you want a card to generate resources, do you focus it - triggering effects like "when you focus a card.." - or not?




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Earl Zombie
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
I think the thought there is that cards have effects that they focus to use, like gain resources. There are also effects that cause to focus. If that happens the card being focused don't get their focus effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Casey Hughes
United States
West Des Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So far there is no generic "when you foucs a card" reaction in the base set so that isn't a problem just yet. However when you look at the definitions of how they define ready, exhausted, and fousing to cards to get effects, it seems reasonably clear that you have to focus a resource generating card to get resources. Someone has already stated that there will be a FAQ around release of the actual game that will clear up a few inconsistencies in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Marino
Italy
Unspecified
ITALY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
So far there is no generic "when you foucs a card" reaction in the base set so that isn't a problem just yet.

Ok, no card text, maybe. But a game rule, yesss!

When FFG describes strikes they pay attention to always use the wording "to focus a card" instead of "place focus token". It's a very different wording, as they stated in the "A Matter of Focus" paragraph.

They explicitly speak about game rules that don't focus a card but only place tokens on it, at pag 10, "A Matter of Focus" paragraph:
Quote:
Some card abilities or game rules require one or more focus tokens to be placed onto a card. This does not cause the card to focus...

So by reading the rules it seems clear that:
- you don't focus a card to generate resources, but you simply place focus tokens on it. This is the game rule they are speaking of, pasted in the quoted text above.
- you focus a card when you choose a unit to strike during engagement resolution. This is really clear from the rules, no doubt here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Casey Hughes
United States
West Des Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Foucsing is to put a token on a card to generate some effect. You are putting tokens on the resource generating card to get resoures to pay for an action or card.

The game rules I believe they are referencing are Tactics Icon on units. They do not fall under Card abilities as they are described on pg 24.

Like I said, it has already been admitted that they are some things in the rules that will be clarified upon release. Since there are no interactions that currently matter on this point, we should just wait until then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ErikPeter Walker
United States
Rochester
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
boardgamegeek.com/boardgameexpansion/145148/
badge
Expand
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it's clear enough that focusing a card is intentionally putting one or more focus tokens on it for some benefit; when a card puts a focus token on a different one, it would specifically have to say it's "focusing" the target card or nothing else happens.

Anyone else think the focusing mechanic is a really slick way to handle resource generation? I love that there's the potential for getting the game rolling by throwing down a huge resource generator right away and draining it, balanced by having to wait a few turns to free it up again.

It's a refreshing departure from the one-more-mana-per-turn escalation typical in these LCGs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
László Horváth
Hungary
Veszprém
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm. This means I can generate resources with cards that already have a focus token on them? Just placing more tokens?

I just read the rules once, and didn't thought of that, but seems unintuitive at first sight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mb
horlaci wrote:
Hmm. This means I can generate resources with cards that already have a focus token on them? Just placing more tokens?

I just read the rules once, and didn't thought of that, but seems unintuitive at first sight.


If there's already a focus token on a card you have to wait until the focus token is removed to use said card.

So let's say you used two resources (placed two focus tokens) on a objective your previous turn. During your refresh phase you remove one of the tokens, leaving one left. You cannot use this objectives resources this turn 'cause of the focus token on it and have to wait for your next refresh phase.

Also, if you use one of the resources (place one focus token) on a objective with more resources on it, to pay for a card, you cannot use the other resources this turn to pay for anything else because of the focus token on it.

So, if a card has a focus token on it it is unavaible until the focus token is removed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.