Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Boomtown» Forums » Rules

Subject: Expropriation and changing of mayors rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played this game many times, but (surprisingly) never ran into this before:

What happens if a turn starts like this:
A: 3 Reds + mayor
B: 3 Reds
C: 2 Reds

C takes Expropriation, and takes a Red from A. Now we have:
A: 2 Reds + mayor
B: 3 Reds
C: 3 Reds

So what happens to the mayor? B and C both have more Red than A, but they're tied. Possible choices:
1) C gets it because it was C's action that caused A to lose majority. (Feels someone natural to players in game, albeit not really based on rules).
2) A keeps it, because no single player ever had more. But that seems... weird.
3) It goes back into supply with no owner. But nothing in the rules ever mention a mayor going back into the supply.

I actually had no idea how to rule it. I was biased, but I think unless I'm missing something in the rules, I would rule for #2, even though it's a little weird. It's kind of a cool artifact of the play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Me
United States
Bowling Green
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3)

I think I've seen this in a FAQ or something somewhere, and it's the one I would go with even if I hadn't. I think there's a FAQ in the rulebook...maybe it's there?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no FAQ in my rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Me
United States
Bowling Green
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's another thread on it that doesn't answer it definitively either:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/217925/who-gets-the-mayor

But I'd bet a heck of a lot of money that Faidutti would tell you to put it back in the supply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico Robbemont
Belgium
Hoogstraten
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davidme wrote:
Here's another thread on it that doesn't answer it definitively either:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/217925/who-gets-the-mayor

But I'd bet a heck of a lot of money that Faidutti would tell you to put it back in the supply.

In the other thread (see above) Bruno just answered: "It goes back into the supply until one player has the majority and takes it again."
So choice number 3 is the correct option.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.