Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Sekigahara: The Unification of Japan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat Outside Castle and Overrun rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Nip
Hong Kong
Taipo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation
Venue: Ueda
Defender: Ishida (1 block + Sanada Disk)
Attacker: Tokugawa (4 blocks)



Hoping to delay the fall of Ueda, the Ishida player declares his single block to be outside of the castle.

At this moment, the Tokugawa player states that the single gold block cannot be declared outside of the castle or it will be immediately overrun by the 4 black blocks there, because:
7.4.1 Overruns in General wrote:
In order to Overrun an enemy force, the Overrunning player must have at least four times as many blocks present as the enemy.
and
7.4.2 Overrun Procedure wrote:
Overruns are resolved immediately.


The Ishida player disagrees. He states that as long as Ueda is under Ishida's control, any gold block there is immune to overrun, because:
7.4.3 Overruns and Castles wrote:
Enemy units who control a castle cannot be Overrun.


Which player is correct? Tokugawa or Ishida?
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Abel
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mb
The disk simply indicates that Ueda castle requires an additional 7 impact (21 instead of 14 if fully garrisoned) to take. It offers no other consideration or ability.

7.4.3 Overruns and Castles wrote:
Enemy units who control a castle cannot be Overrun.

Refers to blocks inside the castle, not those standing before it.

A single unit outside of the castle would be overrun by 4+ Tokugawa blocks. Then Tokugawa would only need 7 impact instead of 14 to take the castle.


Good to reread the rules every now and again. As James points out below, Ishida is correct.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Lowry
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ishida is correct. Blocks are not declared inside or outside a castle during movement, only in combat.

8.9.2 Declaring Blocks Inside or Outside wrote:
When combat is designated, and not before, the side that owns the castle may choose whether to be inside or outside of the castle.

(Emphasis in the original.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nuno Santos
Portugal
S. Domingos Rana
Cascais
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Please explain me this:

[8.9.2] - If the active player owns the castle and chooses to remain inside, then no battle or siege combat occurs in this location this phase.

I don't understand how this rule works.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon
United Kingdom
Sheffield
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
my understanding is this. If he owns the castle and you move up to attack it, he doesn't get over run.

Once all movement is done you fight battles. The defender then declares whether the block is either in our out side the castle and you conduct either a siege or a battle.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nunesh wrote:
[8.9.2] - If the active player owns the castle and chooses to remain inside, then no battle or siege combat occurs in this location this phase.


"If the active player owns the castle..."

Let's say that after the above combat resolves, Tokugawa can't eliminate all the Ishida blocks.

It's now Ishida's turn. Ishida can move from the castle and attack the Tokugawa forces outside the castle or choose to remain in the castle. If he chooses to remain in the castle, this does not trigger siege combat.

Tokugawa will have to siege again on his turn if he does not move his blocks away from the area.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nuno Santos
Portugal
S. Domingos Rana
Cascais
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect, thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.