Recommend
14 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Chicken Caesar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Official Rules FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Sizemore
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.NevermoreGames.com
badge
This is NOT a Chihuahua. It is a Sphynx cat. A bald, grouchy Sphynx cat who will bite you if you mistake him for a Chihuahua.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
These are the official answers to questions we have received regarding the rules to Chicken Caesar. Please feel free to suggest other questions which should be added and answered. Thanks!


Rooster death

What happens in the game when a rooster dies?

When a rooster dies, his pawn is immediately moved to the next available (empty) monument alcove. The player should turn over the rooster's card to its monument (grey, back) side, so that it is clear that the rooster is dead. All of the insignia of office tokens that were on the rooster's card when it died stay on the card for the remainder of the game, and will count in the player's final score.


Voting

Does the Suffragium go to Caesar’s player when a new Caesar is appointed?
No. The Suffragium has to start the game somewhere, and it starts with the player whose rooster is the first Caesar. After that, it only moves when the player holding it votes or passes. It is always passed to the left.

Are the decisions of the Aediles, Praetors, and Consuls considered “Votes”?
No. A Vote only happens during the Advancement Phase, when an office to be filled has fewer vacancies than eligible roosters to fill it, and during the Attack Phase, when selecting which roosters are to be taken by the Fox.

Must a Vote be held when the outcome is obvious?
It depends. If the outcome of the Vote is dictated by the rules of the game, then there is no Vote. This includes cases during the Attack Phase where the Fox is going to carry away every eligible rooster in an office, or during the Advancement Phase when the number of roosters eligible to advance is equal to or fewer than the number of vacancies to be filled. For example, if all three Consuls' seats are empty, then the remaining Praetors will advance into the Consuls’ Office, whether they want to or not, without a Vote. Note: this is not an optional rule; the vote does not happen.

On the other hand, if the outcome is only obvious because the players voting have a clear preference for one outcome, but could theoretically vote differently, then the Vote must still take place. This is important to give players the opportunity to bribe, and also to make sure that the Suffragium makes its way around the table fairly.

When a rooster wins an election, do the other roosters that were nominated return to their offices?
If all of the necessary results have been obtained (e.g., the Fox carried away one rooster, and one rooster has been elected), and Caesar does not use his Veto to cancel the result, then yes. The voting is over, and the nominated roosters go back to where they came from. If more roosters need to be elected, then no -- nominated roosters remain nominated until they are elected, or the vote is over.

When must I pay a coin to vote for my own rooster?
Only when you are nominating (first vote) your own rooster during the Advancement Phase. You do not need to pay to give your own rooster a second vote, nor does anyone pay for votes during the Attack Phase. You must pay the coin to vote for your own rooster to advance from the Quaestors’ Office, even though this is technically not a “nomination” (he only needs the one vote).


The Veto

Can Caesar use the Veto to change a result during the Action Phase, such as the tax rate set by the Aediles?
No. Caesar can only Veto the result of a Vote.

Can Caesar Veto the result of a vote for advancement from the Quaestors' Office?
Yes.

Can Caesar Veto the attack of the Fox, saving all of the roosters in an office?
No. Caesar can only cancel the result of a Vote.

With these three exceptions, the Fox will always carry away as many roosters as there are excess Traditor cards:

1. A single Traditor may be bribed away from the Consuls’ Office.
2. The Fox cannot carry away three roosters from an office in which one officer has been exiled.
3. There is only one Censor to be carried away from the Censor's Office, although there can be two excess Traditor cards.

Does Caesar get his Veto token back if he retains his seat for a second term?
No. He is a lame rooster.

If a rooster wins an election, be it for advancement or for being carried away by the Fox, and the result is vetoed by Caesar, can that rooster be nominated again?
Not during the current election -- that rooster is no longer eligible to win this election. If the Veto causes the outcome of the election to be inevitable (i.e., there are only as many remaining eligible roosters as there are seats to be filled or excess Traditor cards) then voting ends immediately and the inevitable results are applied.


Advancement

Can the initial placement or Advancement Phase end without all 11 office seats being filled?
No. Never. The purpose of the Advancement Phase is to fill all 11 office seats. The Action Phase can never begin until all 11 seats are filled. If there are not 11 roosters alive, and not in exile, then the game ends immediately.

How does seniority work?
The senior (“A”) rooster in an office is always the rooster who has been in that office the longest. Roosters may never enter a new office with more seniority than a rooster already there, except during initial placement.

When should roosters be advanced to the senior seats in their office?
It usually makes the best sense to do this right before an office is filled during the Advancement Phase, but this can be done at any time, technically; it doesn’t matter. The only time it cannot happen is when a rooster is temporarily removed from his seat because he has been nominated during a Vote -- the roosters still in office do not pass him, because he is technically still in his seat until he is advanced or carried away.

In what order are offices filled during the Advancement Phase?
Caesar, Consul, Censor, and then Praetor and Aedile are filled at the same time.

When is a Vote held to fill an office?
Only when there are more eligible roosters to fill the office than there are open seats in the office to be filled.

What is an "eligible rooster"?
Any rooster in the first non-empty office below the office being filled. For example, when filling Caesar, all Consuls are eligible. If there are no Consuls, then all Praetors are eligible. If there are no Consuls or Praetors, then all Quaestors are eligible. A rooster whose advancement to this office has been vetoed this turn is not eligible.

When do roosters advance after a single vote?
Any rooster advancing from the Quaestor’s office, regardless of where he is going, wins with a single vote.

What happens when all of the roosters eligible to advance are controlled by the same player, but none of them have been nominated, and the player does not have a frumentum to pay to nominate his own rooster?
If a player has an extra token in his family stash (a token that he could not place on a card, and has neither cashed in nor placed on a monument), then he must cash in a token for the necessary frumentum to vote or pass; he may receive change for a silver or gold token. Otherwise, the player must pass the Suffragium to his left without voting or paying to pass.


Exile

Does an exiled rooster retain any power from his former office?
No. An exiled rooster does not hold any office. He has no power, cannot be advanced, and does not receive either frumenti or insignia of office. The only semi-exception to this rule is that the Censor, when exiling himself, does collect his insignia of office as he leaves. Note that a player whose only rooster is in exile may still be bribed by other players; he just won’t receive anything directly from the bank.

Does being exiled have any long-term effect on a rooster?
None at all. An exiled rooster is returned to the Questors' office after the following Advancement Phase. After this he acts like any other rooster, retaining no effects from his exile. He may advance to his former office, or any other, just like anyone else.


Guard Placement

Once there are only cards of one type (Vigil or Traditor) remaining in the Paetorian deck, can't a Praetor's player just flop them all down in the remaining spaces?
This is up to the players. It is faster to fill them up automatically, but this also gives information to the other players. If there is any disagreement, then the cards should be placed, one at a time, in order. If all players agree to the "flop", then it is important to make sure that all the players with Praetors receive all of the information they would otherwise have.


Game End

What is the earliest phase that the game can end?
The game can end immediately after the Award Phase if it is certain that one family will be wiped out, or that there will not be enough roosters to fill the offices next turn. For example, if there are 13 roosters alive, taxes are at 4, and a rooster is in exile, then the game can end as soon as players have collected their tokens; there can be 10 roosters at most living and not in exile after the Attrition Phase, and no one will have any more opportunity to score points.

How is the score for a dead rooster different from that of a rooster who lives to the end of the game?
There is no difference. A player's score is determined by the sets of tokens that he has on rooster cards at the end of the game, plus his money. It does not matter whether the tokens are on the cards of roosters that died or roosters that lived. Tokens that are in the player's stash when the game ends, however, are only redeemable for money, according to their color -- one, two, or three frumenti, and thus one, two, or three points. They do not count for determining the sizes of the family's sets of tokens.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Chaz
United States
Arkansas
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
"...when the outcome is obvious."

Ok, I get that, but what about when the outcome is INEVITABLE?

Only played once, so I'll try to remember:

Two chickens are going to be eaten from an area.
This area contains one red chicken and two green chickens.

The red chicken is nominated, then seconded, then this is vetoed.
Our understanding was that the red player is NO LONGER ELIGIBLE to be voted as a victim. (this was probably wrong).

So the vote continues. Green is going to get eaten twice, but do we advance the voting marker, or just kill the green chickens immediately?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Sizemore
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.NevermoreGames.com
badge
This is NOT a Chihuahua. It is a Sphynx cat. A bald, grouchy Sphynx cat who will bite you if you mistake him for a Chihuahua.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Chaz wrote:
"...when the outcome is obvious."

Ok, I get that, but what about when the outcome is INEVITABLE?

Only played once, so I'll try to remember:

Two chickens are going to be eaten from an area.
This area contains one red chicken and two green chickens.

The red chicken is nominated, then seconded, then this is vetoed.
Our understanding was that the red player is NO LONGER ELIGIBLE to be voted as a victim. (this was probably wrong).

So the vote continues. Green is going to get eaten twice, but do we advance the voting marker, or just kill the green chickens immediately?


Your understanding was completely correct. There is no further voting in that case. I will clarify the FAQ to reflect this.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A.J. Sansom
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My question comes from a weird situation that arose during our last game:

The grey player had the only two remaining chickens in the aedile office when it came time to vote to fill up the empty censor position. The grey player had the suffrigeum marker but had no money on hand nor had any extra insignias. What happens?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since the tiebreak is 'whoever went on the wall first'...

Let us say that in the first round, all three Consuls are up to be eaten and do not have enough coinage to bribe away a single fox (due to an earlier bribe and none of them having a brother in the Aediles)... Since the order MATTERS (for tie break purposes), but the conclusion (all three roosters will die) is INEVITABLE -- what happens?

aka: is there a vote to determine order of death?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A.J. Sansom
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
Since the tiebreak is 'whoever went on the wall first'...

Let us say that in the first round, all three Consuls are up to be eaten and do not have enough coinage to bribe away a single fox (due to an earlier bribe and none of them having a brother in the Aediles)... Since the order MATTERS (for tie break purposes), but the conclusion (all three roosters will die) is INEVITABLE -- what happens?

aka: is there a vote to determine order of death?


I believe it says in the rules that the junior member of the house go to the first empty spot in the graves.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Veto question:

Can Caesar veto a Quaestor 'vote'?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Sizemore
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.NevermoreGames.com
badge
This is NOT a Chihuahua. It is a Sphynx cat. A bald, grouchy Sphynx cat who will bite you if you mistake him for a Chihuahua.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ajax013 wrote:
My question comes from a weird situation that arose during our last game:

The grey player had the only two remaining chickens in the aedile office when it came time to vote to fill up the empty censor position. The grey player had the suffrigeum marker but had no money on hand nor had any extra insignias. What happens?


I had forgotten this one. Seriously, people, what are you doing with your Aedile money? 8ˆ) This literally never happened in playtesting.

I will add the answer: the player must pass, but does not have to pay a coin to pass.

Quote:
I believe it says in the rules that the junior member of the house go to the first empty spot in the graves.


Yes, p. 9, second column.

Quote:
Can Caesar veto a Quaestor 'vote'?


Yes, absolutely. I will clarify this.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Manore
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Warlord beats Troll, Troll beats Elf, Elf beats Water Sprite, and basically everything else beats Enchanted Bunny.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for putting this together John!

One question regarding Caesar's veto during the attack phase. Let's say one rooster must be carried away and there are three different players represented in that office. However, one of the players also controls Caesar.

The other two players vote for the rooster whom also controls Caesar to be carried away. Caesar vetoes the vote. So now his rooster is exempt from being carried away, but another vote takes place between the remaining two roosters, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A.J. Sansom
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robman wrote:
Thanks for putting this together John!

One question regarding Caesar's veto during the attack phase. Let's say one rooster must be carried away and there are three different players represented in that office. However, one of the players also controls Caesar.

The other two players vote for the rooster whom also controls Caesar to be carried away. Caesar vetoes the vote. So now his rooster is exempt from being carried away, but another vote takes place between the remaining two roosters, correct?


Your assumption/explanation is correct. If either of the other two roosters were already nominated, they remain nominated after the veto takes place.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Sizemore
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.NevermoreGames.com
badge
This is NOT a Chihuahua. It is a Sphynx cat. A bald, grouchy Sphynx cat who will bite you if you mistake him for a Chihuahua.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ajax013 wrote:

Your assumption/explanation is correct. If either of the other two roosters were already nominated, they remain nominated after the veto takes place.


QFT
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fizzwick Nuffaa
msg tools
Had a query concerning the Fowl Play roosters, specifically Aurum. His ability is to have two Censor tokens. Can he get both of these while alive or does the second have to come as a monument upgrade? There was some debate over this in our group based on the wording of his ability and differing interpretations of 'place'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Sizemore
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.NevermoreGames.com
badge
This is NOT a Chihuahua. It is a Sphynx cat. A bald, grouchy Sphynx cat who will bite you if you mistake him for a Chihuahua.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fizzwick wrote:
Had a query concerning the Fowl Play roosters, specifically Aurum. His ability is to have two Censor tokens. Can he get both of these while alive or does the second have to come as a monument upgrade? There was some debate over this in our group based on the wording of his ability and differing interpretations of 'place'.


He can get them both while alive or dead, or one alive and one dead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt W
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Thanks for the FAQ. We were playing the Veto returns and Quaestor appointments can't be vetoed. Not next game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Berger
United States
Round Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skipsizemore wrote:
Quote:
Can Caesar veto a Quaestor 'vote'?


Yes, absolutely. I will clarify this.


Wait... really? I thought that you could only veto a vote, and roosters are appointed from the Quaestors office without a vote?

If you veto an appointment, how long is that rooster ineligible for? The rest of the advancement phase? Or are they only ineligible for the office that you veto'd them being appointed to?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Sizemore
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.NevermoreGames.com
badge
This is NOT a Chihuahua. It is a Sphynx cat. A bald, grouchy Sphynx cat who will bite you if you mistake him for a Chihuahua.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
arkayn wrote:
skipsizemore wrote:
Quote:
Can Caesar veto a Quaestor 'vote'?


Yes, absolutely. I will clarify this.


Wait... really? I thought that you could only veto a vote, and roosters are appointed from the Quaestors office without a vote?

If you veto an appointment, how long is that rooster ineligible for? The rest of the advancement phase? Or are they only ineligible for the office that you veto'd them being appointed to?


Yes, this is ambiguous in the rules; sorry about that. Advancement from the Quaestors' office is just like Advancement from anywhere else, except that that only one vote is needed. They don't hold a "full-scale" election, but it still counts as an election.

The rooster would be ineligible for election to the office he was supposed to go into. He could possibly still advance into another office later in that Advancement phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.