Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Alien Frontiers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use Shipyard Twice on one turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arran Blattel
msg tools
Hey All,

I looked around and didn't see this question asked, so I'll give it a go. If you have 3 ships total and roll a pair, can you put the single pair on the Shipyard and buy 2 ships or are you limited to buying 1 ship for each pair of dice that you put on the shipyard?

aka - I have 3 ore, 3 fuel, 3 ships, and roll 2,2,4. Can I put the 2s on the shipyard and buy both my 4th and 5th ship for 1 + 2 Fuel and 1 + 2 Ore?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Dumitru
Romania
Otopeni
Ilfov
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see any rule to stop you doing this. But, do you have all these goods at the beginning of your turn? I hope you know that you must end the turn with max. 8 goods!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry. The rules on page 9 say "each pair of docked ships, along with payment of the appropriate fuel and ore, earns ONE new ship from the ship stock".
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. You can only get one ship per pair.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Dumitru
Romania
Otopeni
Ilfov
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeap! You're right! I was about to correct my post...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arran Blattel
msg tools
Hey Guys,

Thanks for the clarification! I assumed this was the case but missed the explicit part in the rules.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Zigmond
United Kingdom
Durham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fl0po wrote:
I don't see any rule to stop you doing this. But, do you have all these goods at the beginning of your turn? I hope you know that you must end the turn with max. 8 goods!


That's true (and a rule we missed for our first few plays - not that it makes much difference in practice, as stockpiling is bad anyway due to Raiders' Outpost), but I'm sure ships don't count as a "good". Having 3 fuel and 3 ore at the start of your turn is perfectly legal - but, as others have already said, building 2 ships with only 1 pair of dice is not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Springboard by Game Salute
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Yes, the 8 resource limit at the end of your turn applies only to total fuel and ore.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.